MS and Epilepsy update Carp fishing and dogs needing homes.

I appear to have my medications in balance now, I am due to start a new MS medication but I have had it before and it is good. I haven’t had a seizure for more than a week and if I have a nap in the afternoon I can last all day. 🙂

I am still learning about Epilepsy but I am finding it a bit less scary than I did at first. I do still find the attitude of some people a little strange, some think I have a mental illness? others just have odd ideas about what they should do if I have a seizure, things like putting something in my mouth to protect my tongue or restrain me if I “thrash around”? I inform when I can but I can’t start every new encounter with people by listing the things to do in the event of a seizure or explain all the complexities of the condition, they would run a mile. I don’t know what the answer is but more information about Epilepsy needs to be put in the public domain somehow.

I have been making “boilies” today (a carp bait) ready for some long hot days of fishing, I love to spend a couple of days at a time away at a lake not catching carp. 😀  I think with my new home made bait I stand a chance of catching? Julia is nervous of me fishing overnight as I wont have my motorhome with me but I think I will be safe under my fishing brolly in a comfy chair, the only fishery I can use at the moment is behind locked gates so no yobs will get me. I must get a life jacket though.

The dogs below are in need of forever homes but a foster home would be a help at the moment. As usual, if you can help contact Jemima on the details listed at the end.

Dear all

We have just had confirmed that there are four super dogs on their way to us this week – and we need some fostering help… (and of course offers of forever homes too!).
SHAY
 shay1
shay 2
Shay is a beautiful black setter boy (we think possibly a cross between a Gordon and an Irish). He’s a lovely boy, quite steady and he’s been good off-lead on a run around a field – doesn’t go far and comes when called. We nearly lost him to illness when he first came out of the pound – now fully recovered although in need of some TLC. He’s really good with other dogs.
CHARLIE
 
charlie1
 charlie2
charlie3
A super retriever x boy . Charlie was very scared in the pound and couldn’t walk on a lead, but has been much better since he came out and has won a lot of friends with the rescue girls at the kennels in Ireland who say he is “divine”. He is good with other dogs, although as a rather timid boy himself, he worries if they are too in-his-face.
BRODY
brody1
brody2
Brody is a young, small and rather timid working-bred purebred lab boy – good with people; scared of other male dogs, but fine with females. We think he might do best in a foster on his own where he can build up his confidence, but we’d also consider someone with other nice gentle dogs that can give him a bit of space.
LADY/ROXY
roxy
Who’s for a little ‘un? Bit of confusion of this girl’s name, so we’ll see which suits her best when she arrives! She’s a tiny, slightly older working cocker (5/6 yrs old)- desperate for cuddles.  Despite the picture, she’s black, not brown. Lady/Roxy has been in foster in Ireland with six other dogs and she’s been fine with all but one – but would probably be happiest as an only dog who can nab all the attention for herself. She has a cloudy left eye and we think she might be blind on that side – something to be checked out when she arrives.
All vet bills while dogs are in foster are, of course, met by us.
If you can help with any of the above, please let me know asap!
Best
Jemima
Jemima Harrison
Black Retriever X Rescue
01672 811851

www.blackretrieverx.co.uk

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 39 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to MS and Epilepsy update Carp fishing and dogs needing homes.

  1. Sue Vincent says:

    Shay could come to me with pleasure.. any of them could… if i weren’t tied up the next few weeks.. it would not be fair.

  2. mickcgorman says:

    Good luck with all of that! 🙂

  3. I assume from your post that you have not had your epilepsy diagnosis for very long. Best thing to do is educate everyone around you about how to handle your seizures. When my foster son moved in, I took more interest in his epilepsy, and have since made it a point education people around him in proper methods for helping someone with seizures.

    I know what you mean when you say people have some strange ideas about what to do during a seizure. I was working as a teacher, so I made it a point to go over proper procedures with his classmates and teachers. I’ve asked James to just casually warn new people that he might seizure, and that they don’t have to do anything other than make sure he is safe, and tell him what happened during the convulsion so we can document it.

    Good luck.

    • mickcgorman says:

      Scott, Thank you for commenting.
      I am working on the people around me but I can’t do anything for the people that I newly meet, I don’t feel inclined to open up about my health to all casual acquaintances. I think there is a case for including conditions like Epilepsy in health lessons at school? We teach CPR and first aid so why not other conditions that people may encounter during their life? I confess that I knew very little until I had to deal with someone having a seizure when I worked in a clinic in The USA (I was 30 at the time)!
      You are right, I was only diagnosed last year. 🙂

Leave a comment