Stillbirth of my Grandson

On the 30th of March at 6:35pm our Grandson, Christopher Derek Marshall-Gorman was stillborn. It was a planned delivery after the discovery of a catastrophic condition “not conducive with survival”

If I feel this heartbroken I can only imagine how bad it must be for our son and his partner.

A few words that came to mind after reading similar thoughts elsewhere.

People say “you don’t miss what you’ve never had”
I know that’s not true.
I miss you, Christopher Derek Marshall-Gorman
I will miss your smile
I will miss your first words because you wont speak them
I will miss you learning to walk
I will miss your first day of school
I will miss a whole life time
My heart is broken because of all the things that we will miss.
.
.
About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Stillbirth of my Grandson

  1. LyndaMichele says:

    So sorry for your loss.

  2. sitagaia says:

    So sorry for your loss. I can’t even imagine what you and your family must be going through. Sending positive vibes your way.

  3. I am so sorry for the the loss your family has had to face.

  4. mickcgorman says:

    Thank you. It has been a tough few days but we will get better.

  5. Carol says:

    I am so sorry for you and the family…words aren’t enough.

  6. Mere words can never console or your son, my friend. Thank you for sharing this terrible event with us, and for trusting us to be there for you!.

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank you, Connie. It has been a week now and although things are less raw, I still have to distract myself on occasion to avoid remembering, time will heal. 🙂

  7. So sorry for your loss.

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank you. It is suprisingly hard to come to terms with. I must confess to not having been the most sympathetic to other people’s stillbirths in the past!

      • I believe we all have trouble getting comfortable in shoes we’ve never worn and yet a blessing to those who cross our path after we’ve healed and then taken them off.

  8. I am so so sorry for your loss, Mick. I’m behind on my reading and traveling now but briefly popped online and saw your post. Please know that you and your family will continually be in my thoughts and prayers. Hugs to your entire family, my friend.

Leave a Reply

