A bit of a whinge and a warning.

First the warning.

I don’t know about others but I have 4 dental checkups each year, this includes a thorough examination of the soft tissues of the mouth. I think it is more common for people to have 2? My advice is to have as many as you can afford both financially and time wise. My 37 year old niece went for her regular checkup at the end of last year during which the dentist found something he wasn’t happy about, he referred her to the hospital for further examination. Her appointment was slow arriving and by the time it did she was heavily pregnant. The hospital found cancer under her tongue, treatment was delayed a month to allow the pregnancy to reach a point where the baby could be delivered. The baby was delivered early and surgery was done followed by chemotherapy. A few weeks after chemo my niece went for a follow up appointment where it was found the cancer had returned and had also spread, she was told she had just 3 or 4 months to live, she died 8 days later. My dentist told me that 75% of oral cancers can be spotted early with regular checkups which sadly means 25% go unnoticed until it is too late! He also said that most oral cancers are very aggressive so the sooner they are found the better the outcome. So if you are overdue a checkup perhaps it would be a good time to get it done.

 

My whinge seems a little self indulgent now but the reason I started the blog was to say things that bother me without burdening my loved ones.

MS has been a real pain for quite a while now. I may be having a proper relapse at the moment? 3 or 4 weeks ago I had a fall which left my arms and body scratched and bruised this was at the same time a I started suffering severe dizziness. At the time I wasn’t sure if the fall came first and I had banged my head or if the dizziness came first and this had caused the fall? The dizziness has continued since along with horrible neuralgia in my lower legs, feet, right hand, and arm and such bad fatigue I can barely move my arms and legs. I thought once I had been diagnosed with secondary progressive MS it would be a slow plod onward without relapses? I guess not, I will still get the pleasure of relapses. 😀

After summer ended a week ago with rain and cold temperatures it has now returned with blue sky and plenty of sunshine. 🙂 The met office is saying that it will mostly remain like this until October? So, rain and cold for us then. 😀

.

Irish Retriever Rescue oldie, Ralph is looking for a home.

Ralph

Ralph is 10 years old, in good health (apart from wobbly back legs) and has a pet passport. Further details of Ralph can be found by clicking wherever you see his name.

Other IRR dogs can be found here… along with success stories and ways you can help the rescue. IRR is a wonderful rescue and is where our gorgeous Hamish came from.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A bit of a whinge and a warning.

  1. leggypeggy says:

    Such a sad story about your niece. I hope people take your warning seriously. Sad too about your MS causing problems. Take care and hug Hamish.

    • I never gave oral cancers a thought before my niece got it, I only had very frequent checkups because MS made my hands weak and I sometimes struggle to floss properly.
      Hamish will gratefully accept all the hugs going. 🙂

  2. paolsoren says:

    Well Mick, this was a hard post to read but it must have been difficult to write.I think I will make an appointment ASAP. Thanks for the warning and so sad about your niece.

Leave a Reply

