An update of sorts.

There is nothing new to report again. Due to my health nothing has happened since my last posting. I stay at home and maybe twice a week I get to take the boys out for a run.

I wonder if the main difference between my former condition of “relapsing remitting MS” and the current “secondary progressive MS” is psychological? Most of the symptoms I have now I have had on and off for many years, maybe now they are a little worse? The thing now is that in my head I know that things are not going to get any better. I still have times that don’t feel too bad compared to other days but most every day tasks are a real effort. In the not too distant past I could look forward to weeks without any troubling symptoms but over time those periods have vanished. It’s hard to get advice of dealing with this new stage because everyone experiences MS differently, there is no standard progression in MS. My best source of help is my MS nurse as she sees many people with different symptoms at different stages of the condition, she gives good advice for a range of symptoms. The only thing I can’t get her help for is getting my head to adjust to how things are changing. At my last clinic appointment I was asked if I thought I might have some depression as apparently I appeared “a bit down”? I don’t think I am depressed, just at a bit of a loss as to what I do next to adjust, I will probably just plod on until I figure it out. πŸ™‚

I haven’t seen any friends for quite a long time now as I have been a bit of a hermit, perhaps now that the weather is improving I should try to get out and see some. As always there is an upside to life. I haven’t had any bothersome Epilepsy stuff for ages. πŸ™‚ Nothing makes me feel unsafe as much as Epilepsy does. I have never felt at risk or vulnerable because of MS, only a bit redundant and useless from time to time.

We are still struggling to find an automatic motorhome to replace our old dead one, there are a lot around but they are either too expensive, too old or if they are just right they sell before we can get to them! The trouble with good used motorhomes that are automatic is that they are as rare as rocking horse poop because they are sought after by old duffers like me. πŸ˜€

Julia has suggested we go to Indy’s farm (our friend Andrew) for a break, he has a lovely cottage that he rents out. The farm is thousands of acres of beautiful rolling, Scottish countryside in the lammermuir hills. I always feel good at the farm partly because Andrew still has 2 of Indy’s litter mates and 5 others from the same parents but different litters. Did I ever mention that I love dogs? πŸ˜€

Indy’s family.

Indy’s parents. Amariliss and Craster. Both greatly missed.

Craster and the Mrs

Indy’s eclectic mix of siblings. πŸ™‚ Β (the retriever lurking at the back was the wonderful Luca)

 

Julia and me with our old dead motorhome in front of the view from the cottage.

At Godscroft 2

And down in Moneynut valley where we usually camp. Sorry this is our private campsite as the lane is only open to the public once a year for a special stage of the RAC rally. πŸ˜€

campsite on moneynut lane

I think Julia is right again, we should go soon.

.

2 Love Underdogs in the “overlooked category.

Robinson is a very endearing boy who who does give the best smiles! There is nothing quite like his face when people he knows visit him! He is a year and a half but arrived at the shelter in Romania as an abandoned puppy so his age estimate is fairly accurate. He is a relatively small dog at only 18kg, the photos can be deceptive. He is about the size of a large beagle. He is a lovely and very attaching dog who has a real sense of fun in him. He also quite fancies a role as someone’s lap dog. Robinson has spent time in foster so knows the basic and is house trained.

Robinson

.

Zina was born in July 2015 (her age is approximate). She had a difficult start to life. She was brought to a Romanian public shelter by dog catchers before being taken into a private shelter and into our care here in the UK with her siblings.
She is still a youngster who is developing and progressing. Zina is unsure about things and people unfamiliar to her and needs a patient and calm home, to help her gain some much needed confidence. We are only looking to place Zina in a family with an existing confident dog, which will help her settle enormously.

Zina

To get more details of these 2 click their name or for other Underdogs click wherever you see “Love Underdogs

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An update of sorts.

  1. leggypeggy says:

    Sorry to hear you’ve been feeling a bit down. Hope you perk up soon. Where’s a magic wand when you need one? I think Julia is on the money when she says you need to get away for a bit. Zina and Robinson look ready for anything.

Leave a Reply

