A disappointing day. :-(

In the early days of having MS I found people to be kind, caring, and on the whole understanding. If I had any complaint it would be that some people appeared to pity me? I could live with that. The past 5 or 6 years has seen a large change in how I am treated by some people. 6 years ago,for the first time since 1994 (when I was diagnosed with MS) people started yelling insults at me! It was rare but would happen a couple of times a year, in the past year it has happened a lot. One word that is almost always included in the insult is “scrounger” this attitude is a result of the current governments narrative to turn working people against people on welfare, I am not on welfare although I get “personal Independence payment” to assist with the extra cost of having a disability. Despite the new negative attitude of many to people with disabilities I try to remain optimistic, comfortable in the knowledge that most people are decent and it is just a few knuckle draggers that hold these unpleasant views. Today I was totally rocked by an incident to the extent that if I can’t convince myself it was random I fear I may become a hermit. I was coming along my favourite path around a lake that I take Hamish on every day, as I slowed to get around a gate I felt a large rock hit the back of my head! Thrown by someone so cowardly they had to conceal themselves in a wooded area to attack a passing cripple. When I was a young man I didn’t take to being messed with, I have never been a thug or a fighter but I would look after myself if anyone caused trouble, unfortunately I am no longer able to look after myself so I have to feel confident in order to function. I will try to convince myself that this was random and not targeted because I am vulnerable, I already had some concerns about going out because of having Epilepsy, I don’t need any more worries. No serious damage done apart from a good sized egg and a small cut on the back of my head and a small break in my heart. 😦

Update: I have reported the incident to the police just in case this person targets others. The police said if I get any people hurling insults or rocks I should call them, further incidents would be investigated as a “hate crime”

One of the current campaigns that I am supporting is against the oppression of the Palestinian people in the occupied territories, my little problems are as nothing to the suffering endured by them.  If only I had the power to make the world a more peaceful and loving place.

.

.

How about promoting a Love Underdog to cheer myself up a bit. 🙂

Yoda is ten years old and his eyesight is now starting to fail. I have fostered many old dogs and several blind ones and they have all gone on to make fabulous pets.

yoda03

.

This is rather an odd looking underdog who is also mature and very deserving of a second chance at a home. IT’S A CAT??

Smokey is about 12 years old and needing a home as his owner has gone in to a care home.

smokey18

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A disappointing day. :-(

  1. Dani Watkins says:

    That’s terrible! I am so sad to hear how someone could be so mean. I have found that people are mean to others because they are uncomfortable or are dealing with some issue themselves that they don’t know how to handle properly. Don’t let some jerk like that get to you. I hope your day gets better!

  2. leggypeggy says:

    I’m gobsmacked that people have yelled insults at you and now I’m doubly gobsmacked that some low-life coward threw a rock. These actions really defy belief. I’m so sorry you’ve been a target in any way at all, and sincerely hope that the rock incident was completely random.
    Like you, I am against the oppression of the Palestinian people. There is so much wrong with the world today. More people need to hug dogs.

  3. tippysmom2 says:

    I don’t understand some people! I hope you can keep in mind that there are more good ones out there than there are bad. Hurling insults and, worse, hurling, rocks at a disabled person is totally unacceptable. I don’t know why anyone would think that is okay?! Sorry it happened to you!

    • Thank you. I still notice the good in people more than the bad. The most upsetting part of the incident was that when I was writing yesterday I became aware that I had grown accustomed to the insults. It must be awful to be part of a persecuted minority. ☹️

      • tippysmom2 says:

        This makes me sad. To become accustomed to the insults means that you get them a lot and that just shouldn’t happen! I hope you have a good day today.

      • It may sound like political jealousy because I am a member of the opposition party but our government has created a toxic atmosphere in this country! It is okay to hate people that are different, it has slightly shifted away from people on welfare (as I said, I am not) but now it is immigrants who are the target. I can honestly say there isn’t a single group of people that I dislike, I just can’t understand why everyone doesn’t feel the same way?

      • tippysmom2 says:

        I agree with you. There are good and bad people in all groups, so to hate someone just because they are different…….I don’t understand either. Our government hasn’t done anything to help us get along better either. It feels like we are more split now that we were 8 years ago when we elected an African American president. (May sound like political jealousy on my part too, as I am a Republican.) I don’t see it getting any better, regardless of who is elected in a couple of months. But, at least it is still unacceptable to hurl insults and throw things at people who are different.

Leave a Reply

