Getting on with Mr Epilepsy.

I am not yet out of the Epilepsy hole but I am getting there. I have had a kind offer from a friend to go out for coffee in a safe environment and I have had a couple of visits from friends put together with Julia taking me out will help to rid me of the stupid anxiety. It a great relief that Julia is doing the driving now, I think being dependant on public transport would stress me to death. I still feel anxious in the hours before I know that I have to go out but after just a short time out it passes. πŸ™‚

I haven’t had any more seizures in the past couple of weeks but i am still very sensitive to certain light and noise conditions, I find fluorescent light unbearable and coupled with the kind of humming sound of lots of people in a supermarket makes shopping a no no at the moment (what a shame) πŸ˜€

Today I managed to take Hamish for a long run out on the edge of town with my buggy, we are unable to use our beautiful park because it has been taken over by Irish travellers who had just been removed from another park in town!! I have nothing against travellers, the last ones who stayed were no bother at all but this group have been racing around the park in cars and being quite intimidating to dog walkers. 😦

I had been hoping to get an “oldie” foster dog but the one who seemed to fit my current state of health needs to be kept with his friend and I don’t think I could manage 2 at a time. I will read through all of the dog descriptions on Love Underdogs and see if there is someone else who is wanting home comforts without long runs? I do miss doing something worthwhile like fostering.

The previous rescue centre I volunteered at had a spell of neglecting their dogs so I stopped going, by some accounts things had improved although I have no personal knowledge of current conditions? Wiccaweys are now leaving Wellingborough and moving to Lincolnshire. All I hope is that the local RSPCA is more diligent than the one here and that they manage to keep Wiccaweys honest. Previous conditions can be seen on the Facebook group “Wiccaweys uncovered”

.

.

I wish this gorgeous lady suited my current condition as I have dreamed of being able to help her on her way to happiness.

5 year old Trinity is a stunning girl, with a most unusual look. She is sure to turn heads! She arrived at the shelter in Romania as a puppy and we hope that she will finally find a home in the UK.

Trinity 1

.

Trinity 2

.

More details of Trinity can be found here.

 

 

 

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Getting on with Mr Epilepsy.

  1. tippysmom2 says:

    Hope you find to perfect dog companion.

  2. wfdec says:

    Mick, Glad to hear your starting to surface. I have now idea what you must be going through but wish you all the best.

  3. leggypeggy says:

    Good to know the anxiety is calming down and that the epilepsy is at bay for now. Hope the right dog for you to foster comes along soon.

    • The right dog always comes along at the right time. πŸ™‚

      • leggypeggy says:

        So you have to be patient. πŸ™‚

      • Alison Hardwick says:

        Hi Mick, have you been in touch with the Oldies Club? We got our border collie Lou from them and they always need foster home as they don’t have kennels. Many of their dogs don’t need long runs out as much as a warm loving home after having to leave long term homes, often after their owner has died. Also, I need to say that I am sitting here in shock after reading what you have to say about Wiccaweys rescue. I have been considering contacting them about one of their collies but now I just can’t think whether I should to get one out of there or just stay far away. Anyway, try the Oldies Club http://www.oldies.org.uk/ they are a good bunch.

      • Thank you Alison. πŸ™‚
        Of course you should follow your own instincts with adopting from Wiccaweys or anywhere else. As i said I don’t know what current conditions are like at Wiccaweys but i know it is the same two people running it so the ethos will be the same regardless of what the kennels are like.

  4. Epilepsy is a hard thing to deal with.

  5. Mick C Gorman, if you don’t mind my asking, was your situation genetic or was there no prior family history?

    • There is no history of Epilepsy in my family although my Mother suffered a period of seizures when she was young. I had what my neurologist describes as “auras” since around the age of 12 but didn’t get seizures until i was about 46?

  6. Mick C Gorman, I am not trying to pry regarding your personal situation. Just saying that I can relate to your experiences.

  7. Mick C. Gorman, you mentioned having a dog. I love dogs personally.

Leave a Reply

