Not the best week but I’ve had worse.

I’m afraid the dreaded “eppy” has returned! On Monday I spent a few hours doing some gentle gardening (sitting on the ground potting some seedlings) after I got up I remember saying something to Julia and then the lights went out. Julia said it was the best seizure that she has seen, I was standing with a sharp knife in my hand in between the corner of a heavy wooden planter and a stack of terracotta pots. I went down like an expertly felled tree, right between the hazards and landed with the knife clutched safely away from my body. πŸ™‚ The seizure didn’t last long enough to cause any concern but it took quite a while before I knew what was going on and several days before the foggy head subsided. The difference I have noticed since this seizure is that I have a constant feeling of nervousness? and more than a little anxiety and worry. I think this is probably because I had become accustomed to not having seizures for a couple of years and I became convinced it was under control. I have 2 theories regarding the seizure; 1 is that a long period of MS fatigue brought it on (fatigue can trigger seizures in people with Epilepsy) and 2 is that the pre seizure things I have had lately contributed to the MS fatigue? as usual the healthcare professionals reply was that it could be a bit of both or either??? πŸ˜€ Our NHS is great but trying to get a decisive opinion out of a doctor who hasn’t spent months testing is like getting blood out of a stone. πŸ˜€

In other news…

I spent last weekend printing pictures that I have taken over the years as we have a printer ink contract and I wasn’t making the best use of it. I came across a photo that I took in Plockton, a village Β in the western highlands of Scotland. I loved the image as I looked at it which is why I took the photo but I never appreciated how beautiful it was until I printed it, it wont look as good on here as the kelp in the foreground doesn’t show up as vibrant yellow but here it is.

.

Boat in the bay at Plockton

 

I am going to continue to take it easy for a while as I don’t want to risk having a prolonged period of seizures, rest is a good thing. I feel terribly guilty seeing Julia flitting around doing all of the chores on her own while I sit doing nothing, I will make it up to her some how.

.

.

Denali is a 2 year old girl who would be ideal for an active outdoor type of family.

.

Denali

Denali and other gorgeous pooches can by found at Love Underdogs via their website.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Not the best week but I’ve had worse.

  1. wfdec says:

    I have felled a few trees in my time and getting them to fall exactly where you want is relatively easy if you have been taught the right technique. But I congratulate you on not dropping the knife and not breaking the pots et al. Well done that man!. And that photo should be on a wall and in oils. Love it.

    • I have never felled a tree as well as I fell. πŸ™‚ We had 9 acres of woods in Indiana and every time we needed firewood it would take 10 minutes to chop the tree and 2 hours to un-hang it from the surrounding trees. πŸ™‚
      I intend to frame the A4 print I made for the wall.

  2. leggypeggy says:

    The pic is completely gorgeous. I can see why you liked it so much. As for your seizure, all I can say is congratulations on the expertly executed fall. Luckily Julia was there to witness it, and you are here to report that you’re taking it easy rather than recovering from multiple stab wounds.

    • You see things as I do, there is always an upside. πŸ™‚ Julia would have had a job explaining stab wounds to the police, she could hardly say the dogs did it. πŸ˜€

  3. lilybug1960 says:

    Take care my friend.

  4. Glad you missed all the hazards on the way down. Hope your feeling a bit better soon!

  5. Nachthawk says:

    Lovely mood in the shot – well captured πŸ‘

  6. codemanbc says:

    Increase your sleep…sleep is good. Always love your posts. -Tom and Magic

  7. SonniQ says:

    Hi Mick – You read a post of mine on mynameisjamie.net – about not always holding all the best cards. i don’t know how much you have read of this blog on Jamie, and this post was written some time ago, but he, too, has epilepsy. It is part of why he has such a hard time in prison – they could care less and they won’t give him the medical care he needs. it’s too much bother for some of them and they’d rather let him lay there and let the next shift do the paperwork. I’ve gone rounds with the medical unit about meds. Right now they have him in a second floor cell. His last seizure 4 guards carried him face down by the arms and legs down a flight of stairs to the medical unit when he should be on the first floor for that reason.Tomorrow I go rounds with them again. I pay the prison extra money so he can call for help, but it does no good. I wish you well.

    • If I were you I would look for a human rights lawyer to fight your case, this treatment sound appalling!!
      No person should be treated without dignity. 😦

      • SonniQ says:

        Unfortunately, what the right thing to do is not what is done. There is nothing an individual can do – just like the issue with abuse from cops. But slowly the wheels are turning for change within the prisons – like indefinite solitary confinement and sc for kids. Cops now have to have body cameras and the same needs to be for prison guards. So much abuse happens and people get killed or die while they watch and these things need to be recorded. Right now they can get away with just about anything. And also – there are still many people who don’t think inmates have any rights and they get what they deserve. The get 3 means a day, housing and free medical, except the food is slop, the housing is worse than a chicken coop and I pay a medical fee each year so he can call for a nurse that he see on a video chat most of the time who tells him to drink water – the cure for everything. They refuse him his heart medicine no matter the chest pains and have him on the worst seizure medicine with terrible side effects and when he has a seizure the cuff him and carry him facedown a flight of stairs by his cuffs – which is against protocal, but there are no cameras. I tend to get on a soap box about this stuff it angers me so much.

Leave a Reply

