Memories of Mack.

When I got my new laptop about a year ago I migrated all my pictures either to my new laptop or to our personal cloud, I was horrified and upset that I appear to have lost the folder of Mack pictures! Last night I happened to look at my old laptop to find some old emails and right there amongst the emails was Mack. 🙂

Mack in snow (2)

Mack was never really “my dog” as we never adopted him but had him on foster, after the RSPCA raid on Wiccaweys there never was a chance of me returning him, I would have paid the fee to adopt if I had to but never did.

When Mack arrived from Ireland he had had a hard life, he was very skinny and matted and scared of everyone and every thing. Mack wasn’t like Hamish, he didn’t back away from things that scared him, he bit them and then shouted a lot. I don’t know the reason why but Mack was soon confined to a small travel crate in the back of a van at Wiccaweys? He hated to go back in after being walked so would nip and jump up and generally be scary. One day when a group of us had walked together Mack decided he should nip and tug Julia’s clothes, so much so that he almost had her trousers off. 😀 We decided on that day that we would foster him and met no resistance from Wiccaweys as they had no time for him.

Mack a doodle 001

Mack took to our boys without any trouble but he didn’t like any of the people that came to the house. We had a few incidents when he nipped people when we were out and almost had to give up on him when he took a lump out of the leg of a local teenager, fortunately the boys mother realised it was her sons fault for riding his bike at Mack.

As time went on Mack learned to trust us and knew we would protect him so his behaviour improved gradually but noticeably, he was a joy to have. Mack loved going on the road in our motorhome/RV he especially liked going to our friends farm in Scotland where he could mix with the 9 farm dogs, it helped that our friend is very good with dogs and built up Mack’s confidence.

Copy of Mack harness 005

The last year of Mack’s life he was just like a “normal dog” He met people without nipping, he played happily with dogs and liked nothing more than snuggling up with Luca and Indy and if I was lucky me. All this makes his death even more cruel, just as he was enjoying the life he deserved it was taken from him by a cruel disease. One day Mack was healthy and happy and then he went off his food, 2 weeks later he was dead! Mack died of the visceral form of Hemangiosarcoma. The disease apparently would have started in his spleen and quickly spread via his blood vessels to his liver and heart. 😦

We only had Mack for 3 years (in fact it was exactly 3 years to the day) but he was a big part of us, we learned so much from him. No matter what horrors he had in Ireland and the neglect when he first came to England with a little love and patience he learned to trust. I still miss him.

Some of the “lost picture”

.

I will have to do another post about Luca soon, he died during the 3 years that we had Mack, they were great friends and Mack helped Indy get over Luca dying. We have been very lucky with the dogs that have crossed our path. We will soon be bringing one of the Love Underdogs oldies home on foster so another chapter will be written.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Memories of Mack.

  1. wfdec says:

    What a lovely dog. Easy to see why you still miss him.

  2. tippysmom2 says:

    Mack was a beautiful dog. It was good that you could give him a loving home for the time that you did.

  3. leggypeggy says:

    What a handsome dog. Glad you could help him to find a way to be gentle.

  4. Ralph says:

    Mack is my kinda dog, I too was a rescue from Ireland, my family have no idea what I went threw before my rescue. Having a happy family to thrive in is everything and I’m sure it made Mack’s life. Wish I had met him, we would have been mates.

    R

Leave a Reply

