A very sad day.

After some issues arose between the founders of Love Underdogs and Glebe Farm Kennels it was decided that Love Underdogs would relocate. That is sad but it got worse. On one of the first runs by the company hired to transport the dogs the driver handled one of the very nervous dogs less than perfectly, instead of the kennel staff helping him as they are familiar with the dog they chose to video it and put it on the internet!! Very quickly the trolls took over and some very ill informed and hateful comments were made, as a result of this the founders and trustees have decided to stop working in the UK.

A little perspective needed here. Karine and Anna HauserΒ have run a campaign that has resulted in many thousands of dogs in Romania being neutered, they have worked with international rescue organizations to place dogs abroad and they have rehomed over 700 dogs in the UK. Oh, they also run a bear rescue charity that funds sanctuaries and rescues bears from all over the world. And the trolls? They have written slanderous, hateful messages on the internet. People power at its worst.

Love Underdogs will continue to work to rehome the dogs they have remaining in the UK and provide life long support to dogs who have been adopted. I am extremely saddened by the outcome of this short but very nasty episode but that is as nothing compared to what many dogs will now go through without Love Underdogs.

.

This is Grayson, the nervous dog who was mishandled.

Grayson

Any caring lover of dogs can find their new best friend by visiting Love Underdogs site here

.

I have just had an update about Grayson, he has settled at the new kennels and is doing well.

Grayson new

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A very sad day.

  1. wfdec says:

    I am so sorry to hear this bad news. After all the work you and the others do to have it wrecked by a simple act of incompetence and then to be exacerbated by the nastiness of people with hateful and shallow hearts. I hope you don’t allow it to destroy your spirit. Please keep us informed.

    • Thank you. Some of us (Karine and Anna included) are sensitive and can be easily hurt and discouraged by hateful vitriol. In the old days I would have fought these bullies but I was used to dealing with people face to face, the internet makes cowardly people brave and detached from the consequences of their words. I hope when I have had the chance to speak with Karine in person we will have a chance to do something. These trolls don’t realise that they have condemned 150 dogs a year to death in Romania because Love Underdogs won’t be here to save them. 😦

  2. tippysmom2 says:

    I’m so sorry that this has happened. It sounds like the staff at the kennel really didn’t care about the dogs, or they would have never let the incident happen in the first place. So, leaving there would have been a blessing in disguise had it not been for the “trolls.” This is a case of where the internet can be used for both good and bad. I just wish that the founders and trustees would have done some investigating, if they didn’t, and found out the truth as to what happened before pulling their support. Hope you are able to rehome the dogs you have left.

    • The 3 women that I have dealt with at the kennels were wonderful, they loved the dogs and worked with them tirelessly in their efforts to get the perfect home. I think the staff involved in the videos are peripheral kennel staff. I have been in contact with Karine who is, understandably, distraught I hope that when things settle we can continue to do something to rescue more Romanian dogs?

  3. lilybug1960 says:

    Social Media has been great for so many things, but situations like this show how Social Media and internet trolls can cause so much harm.

    • As I said to Karine, there is nothing on the internet that polarizes opinions more than animals and children. People can be very quick to judge instead of taking a breath, getting the facts and then putting forward a rational argument. I am as guilty as anyone in suffering cognitive dissonance, we all have strongly held views that sometimes even facts can’t shift. As I get older I try to “get over myself” and not let my views (right or wrong) cloud my judgement. Thanks for your input, always appreciated. πŸ™‚

  4. Nachthawk says:

    That is sadnews indeed, especially with the roll out on social media… pity that they couldn’t solve their differences. The only one’s that might suffer are of course the animals πŸ˜” sad

    • It is a shame, if I ran a kennel that received many many thousands of pounds a year from a customer I would try to resolve problems, you can’t run a business if you throw hissy fits with your biggest client. Some people lost sight of the big picture and allowed pride to rule them. 😦
      The dogs will all be well cared for until rehomed but it is the ones that would have had a future here that I worry for.

  5. This is extremely sad. I wish the best for you and the dogs.

  6. Kate Redding says:

    I am so sorry to read this Mick. I think this is the third time in as many days that trolls have been responsible for people withdrawing from their rescue roles or at least in public view, and there are a few pages I have left on FB because of keyboard warriors jumping in and making accusations without waiting to find out the truth. If only they would realise that it is the animals who truly suffer, not the humans who will only be hurt by words.

    • It s so easy for people to make quick judgements from a 30 second video, if they took the time to check the facts they wouldn’t write half the stuff. The internet has been great for some rescues over the years and has found out some bad ones but there have been casualties. 😦

  7. Georgina Parker says:

    I’m even angrier than I was to hear that it was kennel staff that posted these videos, did they have no comprehension of what was going to happen? Dogs are going to die because of their stupidity. They are the ones that know how dogs get treated in Romania so why post it. Arghhh so angry & upset that such a brilliant charity is having to go through this.

    • I have been upset by it all. I know Karine and Anna and I know some of the people at Glebe farm and I can’t reconcile in my head that any of them would do this. The women I have dealt with at Glebe farm have been wonderful with the dogs and obviously love them, I can only think they were “under orders” and didn’t think through the consequences? I watched the videos and at first I winced but then I thought back to when I have loaded nervous foster dogs at Glebe farm and realized that I was probably clumsy too. What I didn’t see in the video was any cruelty, Grayson had his teeth clamped on the man’s hand at one point and he just carried on without getting stressed or angry, I would have probably recoiled and dropped Grayson in the process? I think Karine and Anna intend to carry on re-homing dogs through Germany, in some respects this would be good as it would mean 10 or 12 less hours on the road, I hope Germans love older and disabled dogs as we do. 😦

  8. donnyjean says:

    So sorry to read your post. We have two dogs, one from the SPCA, she was mistreated, and the other one was dumped at only a few weeks old, she was a Rescue Dog. Even in New Zealand there is people that interfere and then buggar things up for everyone and most importantly these dogs that need us to take care of them. Take care

  9. Anette says:

    Thanks for your post, which clarifies some of the back story. I have rehomed a dog from Love Underdogs and know them to be one of the best, if not the best, charity rehoming dogs from Romania. I also know the lady in question at Glebe Farm (my neighbours rehomed a dog via her directly that they had to return!) and get the impression that she doesn’t like humans very much, sadly…
    I’m really sorry it’s come to this, but understand that they will be continuing to rehome dogs via Germany. It’s just such a shame because whenever somebody asked where I got by beautiful and absolutely delightful dog from I loved being able to refer them to Love Underdogs as one of the few rescues that really understand, know and care for their dogs. I presume rehoming to the UK won’t be quite so easy any longer, unless they manage to develop a clear strategy for doing so.
    Altogether a very sad day 😦

    • Thanks for the comment.
      We have fostered since Willy underdog who came in the first load from Romania, we have always found them to be genuine, caring and honourable people. We have fostered quite a few very nervous ones who were just like Grayson in the video, I would grab them up and put them in my car almost as clumsily as the man in the video, nobody criticized me? I think it was just filmed out of malace? What saddens me most after the dogs that will miss out on homes is that the women I dealt with at Glebe farm are a huge asset to dog rescue and they will be missed. 😦 You can still direct people to the Love Underdogs website as they will have dogs for a while yet, they have some real beauties, young and old.

  10. Jay Alden says:

    Hi Mick

    I’m just so sorry to hear this. I have been giving some financial support to LU since we corresponded 18 months or so ago. I don’t use social media at all for this very reason. I agree with everything you say. I did have a quick look at the LU Facebook via my partner’s account and I was a bit shocked at how quick to aggression some of their so called ‘supporters’ were.

    I hope your health has picked up a bit since your last post about it.

    Best wishes,

    Jay

    ________________________________

    • Hello, Jay.
      I was shocked how quickly some “normal” people became so horrible, I had met a lot of these people at LU dog shows and thought them to be nice people!? Social media does bring out the worst in some people. 😦
      I have trimmed my facebook friends down to family and real life friends with just one or 2 dog friends who I know are dedicated to animal rescue and welfare.
      My health is the same but as with most people with chronic conditions, I adjust to the changes. Onwards and upwards. πŸ™‚

  11. Sylvia Embleton says:

    Hi Mick, I’m devastated to hear that Love Underdogs are quitting the UK just because of a few human ‘ underdogs ‘. Myself and my daughter have rescued dogs from Glebe Farm and intended to do so in the future. Deb Sewards always kept in touch too. I hope that maybe you will reconsider because the charity did so much for those poor dogs in Romania and also for the folk who rehomed them too. Please, please, don’t give up. What will those dogs do without you? Sylvia.

    • Hello Sylvia.
      It would appear there has been a slight change of plan as Love Underdogs have started bringing in dogs again. πŸ™‚ They are in 2 different locations with some being in Essex and some in Staffordshire. I am sure that if you contact Deb she will give you more details. I was bereft myself when the unpleasantness happened, it was so unnecessary. Anna,Karine and the LU staff will always do what is best for the dogs (I think they are all wonderful).

      Mick

Leave a Reply

