It’s all about MS.

Life has been all about MS lately. I have been having a harder time for a couple of years but this past year has been really tough. Falling has become such a regular thing I now only walk with crutches around the house, all other times I use either my wheelchair or mobility scooter. The importance of looking out for my safety came into focus 2 weeks ago when parking my scooter in the garden, I got off and as I reached for the door handle fell head first into the wall before hitting the floor! I had very little skin on my forehead with the added bonus of a concussion, it took 4 days until I could see straight and balance enough to sit upright. 😦   I finally conceded to my MS nurse to be referred to a physiotherapist to address my falling, she said if nothing can be done to stop the falls at least we will have explored all possibilities.

Normally MS is just a “thing” living with it day to day one doesn’t really pay attention to the subtle changes until the need to do something arises. My occasion took the form of the dreaded PIP assessment. I have heard horror stories of it taking many months to go through, of uncaring employees of the DWP and terrible assessors and humiliating assessments? My experience was very different, was I just lucky? The letter arrived telling me DLA was ending and to apply for PIP, a short phone call and the forms arrived a few days later. Julia completed the forms as my brain is too foggy to do it, we got a copy of my medical records and sent it away, after a week I got an assessment date in 2 weeks time.The assessors came to the house, they were professional but cordial and completed the assessment in about 40 minutes. 3 weeks later I got the notice that I have been awarded PIP at the same level as my old DLA award. The thing that struck me was that the evidence I submitted and the answers I gave at the assessment bore little relation to the summary in my award letter? I got the feeling that it is just an exercise they have to go through to transfer people from the old benefit  to the new? I have no complaints about the decision, it is what I expected in fact the new award is slightly more money, it is just I wonder why people on a “lifetime” DLA award don’t just get transferred to PIP and save some administration time and money?  I hope that most of the people I have heard about who are very worried about their upcoming PIP applications have a positive experience like mine. The bottom line of all of that rambling is it made me list the symptoms of MS and the impact it has on my daily life, I wasn’t aware of how much things have changed in the last 22 years and how much MS not only impacts me but the rest of my family on a daily basis. Thankfully my Epilepsy is behaving itself or I might be in a right mess. 😀

.

.

Now, back to the serious business of dogs. Another wonderful assortment of gorgeous pooches have arrived at Love Underdogs from Romania. Among all of the scrummy youngsters are 4 very lovely mature woofers who are featured below.

.

Madonna is about 5 years old.

Madonna aged 5

.

Aslan is a very handsome gentleman of about 12 years.

Aslan aged 12

.

Angelika is a sweet older lady of about 9 years of age.

Angelika aged 9

.

And finally for now is Tommy who is definitely not my favourite because I wouldn’t have a favourite! 😉

Tommy is a spectacularly gorgeously furry 12 year old gentleman. 😀

Tommy aged 12

As always anyone  looking for a wonderful furry companion can get more details of the featured dogs by clicking their names, details of other pooches can be found on Love Underdogs website by clicking wherever you see the words Love Underdogs.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s all about MS.

  1. wfdec says:

    A wonderful story about a ‘slightly damaged old bloke’ and some beautiful dogs. Keep your chin in the ‘up’ position. Best wishes from down under.

    • Thank you. My chin is usually up, I don’t often let things get me down. Headbutting a brick wall isn’t one of my best tricks so I will probably avoid doing that again.:-D

  2. tippysmom2 says:

    Sorry about your MS. The dogs are gorgeous. I hope they find homes soon.

    • Thank you. 🙂 The oldies often take a little longer to get homes but usually if I bring them home on foster someone wants to adopt them quite quickly? I think people worry that old street dogs don’t make good pets but they really do. 🙂

  3. leggypeggy says:

    Glad the PIP assessment went smoothly and with a positive outcome. Hope the doggies get a similar positive result—and soon.
    Hang in there. I always look forward to your posts.

  4. codemanbc says:

    Mick: You are in our thoughts and prayers. Thank you for your love of rescued dogs.
    -Tom and Magic

Leave a Reply

