An exciting day?

A measure of what an exciting life I lead is that the most memorable thing to happen this week is today having an assessment for my new wheelchair! 😀  All the really dull stuff was already done when my MS nurse did the referral, today was just taking some measurements and selecting the chair and accessories that I wanted. I managed to get a nice lightweight chair that I can easily dismantle and put in the car while sitting in the drivers seat. So I now have a good quality, purpose made and well fitted wheelchair which was free thanks to our wonderful NHS, people need to value it before the government sell it all off.

Getting the new wheelchair has been quite timely, I have now started the process of beginning some new volunteering positions, both are with rehabilitating offenders which will fit nicely with my experience at the Probation service.

I love the work I do for Love Underdogs but adding the new  placements will make me feel worthwhile again, pesky people will never take the place of my pooches though. 😀

On the theme of Love Underdogs, a new bunch of puppies will be arriving next week, details of all of the new pups can be found on the Love underdogs website.

A selection of the new pups.

Wilson

Wilson.

Sugar

Sugar.

Ora

Ora

Helsinki

Helsinki.

Columbia

Columbia.

Cecil

Cecil.

Atlantis

Atlantis.

And for those pooch people that prefer an oldie, there is 8 year old Bruno who has been waiting for 233 days so far. 😦

Bruno

Bruno.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An exciting day?

  1. suchled says:

    Congrats on the new chair. And congrats on all you do for the dogs.

  2. leggypeggy says:

    The new chair should be great. When my mum needed to be in and out of a wheelchair (thankfully, mostly out) I bought her a secondhand lightweight one that had Active Life written on the side. The A and L were large, so she called it AL. Hope you plan on naming yours. Hope Bruno finds a home soon. Sweet face.

  3. kutukamus says:

    My. And says who underdogs ain’t cute? 🙂

Leave a Reply

