Is it really late July?

Where has the year gone? I had so many things that I was going to do this year and I haven’t done any yet. We haven’t bought a replacement Motorhome/RV yet, although we may be close? We haven’t even been to Scotland to visit our friend who happens to be the farmer who bred Indy. I must stop being so lazy and get some stuff done. The one thing I did do was have an appointment with a disability employment advisor although they are now known as “a work coach” I hope the new title makes them good at helping me get a job. 😀 That went quite well, I have a kind of plan to do some different volunteer work to test what I can physically do and how many hours I can manage. At the moment with the way my MS has been I don’t think I can do much more than get out of bed but if I force myself I may make some progress. I am now going through all the nonsense of getting my NHS wheelchair upgraded to a lightweight one with detachable wheels as I have discovered that I can’t lift the old one into the car any more! I have noticed a few signs of deterioration since this current bad spell started. I am a lot weaker and less coordinated, I tire easily and my eyes want to stop working after quite short periods of reading or using a computer! I am hopeful that despite my MS now being “secondary progressive” I will still have some good times?

As with all of my moaning posts there is always an upside. My lovely pooches are still as lovely and Hamish is now just like a “normal” dog, he still prefers it if people leave him alone until he is ready to approach them but he is not scared any more. 🙂

DSC_0140

As you can see, Hamish is free to roam around off lead with his gang without much supervision. 🙂 I am so proud of him, we have always been proud of Indy but treated Hamish differently because of his nervousness but since letting him loose to discover things he has flourished. The latest great pleasure Hamish discovered is mud! It started when we took the boys to a bird sanctuary which incorporates a long stretch of disused railway line along the side of which is a deep mud filled ditch! not just regular mud, oh no, this is deep and black and very stinky MUD!! When Hamish came out he was black all over apart from his spine and his head, we spent the rest of the day trying to get him to have a swim in the lake, Indy would but despite Hamish loving swimming he wouldn’t go in. Since that day he has gone in the mostly dried up stream at the park in order to get muddy, if he wants daily baths  (which he hates) then we have the patience to go the distance. 😀 I think we are starting to see a turning point now, he is at least going in where there is a little water.

It will soon be time for another foster dog, we are hoping for a few oldies in succession so that I can cope with exercising them, I can’t manage 2 strong young dogs at a time while at the same time watching out for Indy.

.

.

A beautiful tripaw called Betty is in need of a home. Betty is currently being fostered by a member of the Love Underdogs staff but she would love a forever home.

betty

If Betty is not for you there are plenty of other lovely dogs at Love Underdogs soon to be added to by 31 puppies arriving from Romania in August.

A few of the August puppies.

puppy 1 puppy 2 puppy3 puppy 4 puppy 5

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is it really late July?

  1. leggypeggy says:

    Oh my gosh, 31 puppies from Romania! Hope Betty is claimed soon because she is a real looker. Pity I live in Australia. Our daughter fosters too, and I know about the ups and downs. She has a current foster who has had two forever families fall through.

  2. suchled says:

    Mick. You are living proof that the word ‘disabled’ is a load of old cobblers. Keep it up. I love your posts.

Leave a Reply

