I hate MS but love my pooches.

As much as I dislike moaning about MS today I have to! My symptoms have been getting worse for a little while now and I am almost as bad as I was 10 years ago. My recent MS clinic appointment confirmed that I now have secondary progressive MS which is normal after 20 years of relapsing remitting MS. I was told that I have started to cause damage to my hips and spine by only using one crutch and that I should now use two, after a few days of using two crutches it has become apparent that my left hand and arm are weaker than I realised and it has been a struggle getting around! I am also not sleeping well because of some spasms and nerve pain in my foot. DAMN, for someone who doesn’t like moaning I am doing a good job. 😀 My greatest fear is that the problems using crutches could mean I will have to use my wheelchair again which always drags me down, I wonder what Hamish and Jolie will make of me being on wheels? 🙂

On a brighter note, Hamish is still gorgeous.

Handsome Hamish

As is Indy.

Smiling Indy

And Jolie is continuing to make progress. She is still wary of new people but not scatty, she prefers to sit a couple of feet away from the humans at the park if we stop but happily walks among them and prods their bottoms when we are walking? At home Jolie is just part of the family and every bit as cheeky as Hamish if not a little more. 🙂 Did I mention that she is a little flirt? Whichever of the boys is nearest is her boyfriend at that time.

Jolie loves Indy

Indy Jolie in bed

or does she love Hamish?

Hamish and Jolie hugging

Jolie did something yesterday that no dog has done since Luca, our late Golden Retriever 5 or 6 years ago, she got Indy to play mouth wrestling! 😮 She actually gets away with a lot of stuff with Indy that no other dog has ever done, she can walk right into his face when he is laying in his corner without him even smiling at her, in fact she has even walked on him with no consequences! He must really like her.

.

.

Destiny is a 2 year old small dog looking for a home, she is a little shy. Details of Destiny can be found here, all other Love Underdogs can be found here.

Destiny

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I hate MS but love my pooches.

  1. codemanbc says:

    Hey Mick! Bitch and moan, all that you want to, Magic and I will be listening! -Tom and Magic

    …and a Happy Easter weekend! Get plenty of sleep!

  2. suchled says:

    Hi Mick, I don’t visit the blogs on my list as often as I would like to but I have noticed that quite often the people who have some good reasons to moan are often the same ones who crawl out of their bed in the morning and worry about helping others more than they help themselves. So any time you feel like moaning about MS or epilepsy go right ahead. Lots of people with nothing to worry about spend all day grizzling. Keep those dogs smiling!

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank you, you are very kind. 🙂
      I think it’s the dogs that give me my reason for getting up each day, especially the foster dogs who need me as much as I need them. My 2 fur babies are the ones who listen to most of my grumbles. 😀

  3. annelritchie says:

    It is a great comfort to know that you have such a strong support team.. Hamish looks ready to lead, while Indy will certainly do battle with your ailments if the need arises. Jolie will certainly mind your visitors for you and all the while you know you are loved.

Leave a Reply

