My brother.

My brother Derek died 2 years ago today, it’s going to be a difficult day. The early days after Derek’s death passed in a blur and the months that followed were filled with other episodes which kept my brain busy so I didn’t sit and think. I expected the grief to ease as time went on but it is actually getting worse, the last couple of months have been the worst of all. I think the problem is that Derek loved Christmas, he would start shopping for people a few months ahead and was like a child getting excited as Christmas got closer, not because he was getting presents but because he was giving them. He was one of life’s givers. I haven’t yet opened the gift he bought me the week he died, I was planning on doing so last year but I just couldn’t do it, maybe this year?

It feels strange to now be older than he will ever be, he was 18 months older than me and when we were kids would always say that I could do or have certain things when I was as old as him knowing I never would be, if only that were so!

I still think about my bro every day and miss him terribly I just hope that in time the happy memories replace the sad and empty feeling of now.

Delboy

.

.

Asta has been at Love Underdogs for a year now and is looking for a home of her own, she is a beautiful fun loving dog who just needs a family.

asta

 

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My brother.

  1. Sending you support and a virtual {{hug}} on this sad anniversary. I hope the joyful memories of your brother will one day overshadow the pain for you too. Hang in there.
    Kelly

  2. lilybug1960 says:

    When the time is right, you will open the gift. If you ask me, your brother gave you many more gifts that were never wrapped nor cost a penny.

Leave a Reply

