The ups and downs of Annie Underdog.

A week is a long time in the life of Annie. When Julia left for a week long visit to her dad, Annie wasn’t my biggest fan! During the week it was as though I had become Julia, Annie treated me like I was the most trusted person she knew, she came running to me for her lead to be put on, she walked right next to my heel and best of all she relaxed in her chair without getting scatty whenever I moved.

Annie relaxed in chair

 

We had some lovely walks during which I was even bold enough to put Annie on Hamish’s 50ft long line, that proved to be a bit of a mistake as she often ended up wrapped from head to toe in red lead, looking a bit like a red mummy! All 3 of them ended up worn out at the end of our sessions on the scrub fields though. πŸ™‚

Indy being pooped but still able to guard his precious empty plastic bottle. πŸ˜€

Indy with bottle

Annie pooped, note the very lady like delicate panting.

Annie pooped

And finally, Hamish being pooped, a full on blokey tongue hanging out unable to get his breath pooped!

Hamish scrub pooped

So all in all it was a very successful week, Annie learned to trust me, started getting used to a different routine and all is good with the world? Hold on, not so fast! Sunday Julia returned home. Annie rushed to the hallway with her tail wagging to greet her long lost foster mother she then retreated to the kitchen so she could peep out from behind the door until she was sure that things were OK. Once everyone had settled in their respective seats she came into the room and settled on her chair again, and then I got up and she ran into the garden and hid?! and every time for the next 2 days she did the same thing, I had become the enemy, so much so that on Tuesday night when I went into the room she jumped onto her chair and barked at me, I was shocked as she has never barked at anyone or anything. Since Tuesday she has started to settle again and become her usual self, Julia is still her best human friend but I am no longer the evil one. We figured her drastic changes are just due to the routine changing again and once she knew things were back to normal, she was too. We think we have worked out why she likes to be surrounded to be safe, I found out from Love Underdogs that when she was in the shelter in Brasov, Romania she lived in an enclosure with other dogs, each had their own kennel but Annie didn’t live in hers, she burrowed a hole in the ground underneath it and lived down there for safety!! 😦 Β so we have figured that the high arms and back of her chair give her a sense of safety, just like her hole in the dirt.

Love Underdogs are soon going to be promoting Annie on their Facebook page as she is now at the point where she could be re homed successfully, she will regress slightly when first adopted but we think she will attach to her adopter within a few days. Once a routine is established in her new home she would soon flourish as she now has a lot more confidence than when she arrived. I will really miss her when she does go, so until then I will try to enjoy her.

.

.

Love Underdogs are looking for the perfect home for Zani who is 2 years old, if that could be you click the picture to find out more.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The ups and downs of Annie Underdog.

  1. Crossing my fingers for a great forever home for Annie! We adopted a Rottie/lab from the shelter several years ago, and for a while, she loved “cave” spaces, where she was truly sheltered on three sides. She’s since outgrown that and is just wherever we are.

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank you for visiting. πŸ™‚
      I agree, I am sure that Annie will grow out of her need for a “cave space” good name for it by the way. She gets a little braver every day.

  2. suchled says:

    What an absolutely fantastic job you are doing for these dogs. I really give you a big 10 out of 10

Leave a Reply

