Little orphan Annie. (not an update) ;-)

I was going to wait until the weekend to do a short update on Annie but I couldn’t wait. As with all the timid dogs we have fostered, Indy just ignores Annie, I think this is the normal way to treat an unstable dog in the pack? Hamish, on the other hand Loves Annie, He leaves her alone but periodically pops over to her and just touches noses to make sure she is ok. 🙂 Hamish has acted quite maturely and sensibly since Annie arrived which is very odd because he is normally a big doofus.

Today we took Annie on the big morning walk with the boys, she had a great time.

Discovering the first strange street corner.

nice corner

Walking under the calming influence of Indy.

Indy looks after Annie (1)

Pausing with Hamish.

Hamish loves his sister

Cooling off in the long grass.

Annie hiding in the grass

We still have a long way to go but Annie is slowly learning who we are, once she knows that she can trust us she can take in new things and build some confidence. She did bring a small tear to my eye this evening, She normally gives me a wide berth but when I came in from the car she came out of her crate, met me at the baby gate and joined Hamish pushing faces between the bars for a chin rub.  Made my day. 🙂

.

Can you help Bobbi Underdog?

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Little orphan Annie. (not an update) ;-)

  1. codemanbc says:

    I’ll be checking out a 7 year old Border collie male next weekend. The people at Great Lakes Border collie Rescue believe that Cody’s steady behavior would benefit “Ash,” who has had a tough life. I’ll keep you posted. -Cody’s Dad

  2. mickcgorman says:

    I look forward to updates. Having a good steady dog at home is a great help with rescue dogs, Indy has been a godsend to quite a few. 🙂

  3. scifihammy says:

    What a wonderful story 🙂 Annie is lucky to have your stable pack (humans and dogs) to help her settle in and blossom. Usually dogs attack unstable dogs, as happened to my poor Idiot for years until she learnt social behaviour. I hope that whoever adopts Annie in the end will appreciate the time, effort and patience you are all putting in here. On behalf of all rescue dogs, the Idiot, Mr Spaghetti Legs and I thank you.

  4. mickcgorman says:

    Thank you.
    I have always got as much as I have given when I have fostered, patience is the thing I have learned most from my foster babies, before fostering I wanted everything yesterday. 😀

  5. annelritchie says:

    Hello to sweet Annie! When we brought Lucy home (future Leader Dog – only ours for a year) Griffin was her best friend roughousjing, tumbling, chasing….Gracie was more aloof…too rough for her. Slowly the pup figured out that Gracies “currency” was her beloved ball. The pup would take the all and go lay in front of Gracie or rub the ball around her muzzle. Needless to say they are now BFFs, and Griffin has his comfy seat by the window back. No worries, Indy will come around.

    • mickcgorman says:

      To Indy ignoring is his way of being loving with a nervous pup. Before we got Indy he was in a large pack on a sheep farm where he was bottom dog, he will play when Annie is confident to approach him but he wont be forward with her. Hamish, on the other hand decided that today was a good day to start playing. 😀

Leave a Reply

