A review of “A bull on the beach”.

Since returning to the UK to live I haven’t been able to travel the way I used to, to replace the pleasure I got from travel I took to reading about travel and life abroad. I have read many books about life in Spain and the Balearics, I feel a connection with Spain because of Lizzie (daughter) living there. A few years ago I came across a book called “A lizard in my luggage” by Anna Nicholas this got me started on her series of 5 (so far) about her life as a PR consultant in London and starting to live in Mallorca.

Bull on the Beach - by Anna Nicholas

I have just read “A bull on the beach” which is the 5th of the series, it was the most delightful book that I have read for some time. The book views life in Mallorca through the eyes of an “expat” who actually becomes part of the local community, unlike the usual view of Brits abroad who live in little Britain like groups, drink too much and moan about the locals speaking “foreign”!

The cast of characters I have come to know during the last 6 or 7 years become more like real people to me with each book that I read, (I would like to meet Pep, he sounds like a good laugh). I have only been to Mallorca once when I was ten years old but I feel like I know the area around Anna’s finca in the Soller valley as well as I know my own town (Google earth helps) 🙂 I have virtually visited the port and all of the small villages in the area and they look just as I expected from reading Anna’s words. As an animal lover I enjoy reading of all of the animals featured in the books it is just a shame that Anna is a cat person and not an owner of copious amounts of dogs because then she would be almost perfect. 😀

I find the style of writing to my liking, it is humorous, thoughtful and colourful but not pretentious or flowery, in other words even slightly thick people like me can enjoy it.  I am a little less thick after reading this book because like all of the series it includes nuggets of historic, cultural and lifestyle information about the region.

I would recommend anyone with an interest in anything Spanish to read this book but you would be better reading them in order because you will get hooked. I have already started reading them again and I only finished this book a few days ago. 😀

 

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

