Golden days.

After more than 2 years of waiting we have found a special Golden boy to be part of our family. I spent many months searching rescues for the right dog and then I found him at Irish retriever rescue, after completing an application and having a homecheck we finally got to go and collect Hamish from his foster home in Lincolnshire. Hamish spent the journey home stretched out on the back seat of the car with his head in my lap just like he had always known me. πŸ™‚ when we got home he had a quick look about the house and garden and then decided it was ok so he went to sleep.

DSC_0096

As Hamish has just arrived we have only taken a few dozen pictures of him πŸ˜€ as we take more I will do a proper post.

Morning 1

Hamish has had a walk during which he was very calm and well behaved then he came home for a rest. πŸ˜€

20140107_092025

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Golden days.

  1. Hamish is adorable and I love the name! Congrats on your new family member!

  2. mickcgorman says:

    If he does detect seizures I hope he doesn’t tell me the way Indy does! Indy jumps on me and licks my face vigorously, Indy is a small collie whereas Hamish is a very huge Golden Retriever! (I think he may be crossed with a horse) πŸ˜€

  3. OMG, He’s gorgeous! Happy for you all! I’m smiling so widely my cheeks are hurting. πŸ™‚

  4. mickcgorman says:

    I’m with you on the hurting cheeks.
    I was very lucky to get Hamish, he became available while Julia was still in the US and as we both had to be here for the homecheck I couldn’t apply for him! Luckily we got checked in time to get him, it was obviously meant to be. πŸ™‚

  5. Catherine says:

    By the looks of your photo, I think Hamish is feel right at home! πŸ™‚ The instant love between family and their four-legged kiddos! Enjoy!

  6. mickcgorman says:

    Considering that Hamish has had a very hard life so far it is amazing that he is so loving, we feel very lucky to have him.

  7. Lesley says:

    Congratulations to you and to Hamish for being clever enough to find his forever home (as they say). I’m sure you’ll have loads of happy years together. We got our goldie, Dougggie the doggie from the north west golden retriever rescue. Best thing we ever did,I love him to bits.

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank you. πŸ™‚
      I think Hamish has been worth the 2 year wait to get a Goldie after Luca died. I had loads of foster dogs in that time but they were Collies, nothing compares to a big dopey Goldie. πŸ˜€

      • Lesley says:

        heh, you’re right.I love goldens and didn’t even consider any other kind of dog.

        Like you,I replaced kids with a dog. He’s my first one.Why on earth did I leave it so long?

        He’s fast asleep at my feet at the moment having had a seizure about half an hour ago. No doubt brought on by the stress of going to the groomer’s this afternoon 😦

        Other than the epilepsy, he’s allI could ever have wanted in a dog. he’s amazing,as I’m sure Hamish will prove to be.

  8. mickcgorman says:

    There is nothing wrong with having Epilepsy, it makes him special, I have it too. πŸ™‚

  9. Lesley says:

    Hi – Your post really makes me want to see more from you. You might like to accept a Liebster Award, which is also a kind of writing challenge, so I’ve added you to my list of nominations. If you want to see more, check this post of mine:http://javaadvenlu.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

