Life on wheels.

I have heard that the devil makes work for idle hands, so I have tried to stay busy.

I have been preserving some of the produce that I have grown. I have frozen the French beans, some very hot salsa (all for me 😀 )  and tomato sauce, all made with home grown produce. Then I “canned” some tomatoes, some with chilli, garlic and onion and some just plain. Then I made some of Julia’s favourites, Marrow lemon and ginger jam, Jostaberry and apple jam and green tomato chutney! she particularly likes the chutney. Now all I have left to do is make some chilli jelly and pickled chillies (also all for me)!

Doing all of this from a wheelchair has been a bit slower and harder than usual but has been a whole lot safer than balancing on crutches.

I haven’t fallen for about a week and the hole in my head has even started to heal. 🙂  I am starting to struggle a bit when I get my scooter out of his garage so I might just have to leave him out with his cover on? I guess the weakness is a sign that the flare up is far from over?

I speak to Julia every day, she is still coping but I can tell from her voice that she is really ready to come home. 😦  Indy and I miss her a lot and I think she might miss us a bit as well? It has been a tough time for her, having to learn how to care for someone with dementia and then deal with it all alone! I never doubted that she could do it as she is one tough cookie but I think it is taking it’s toll now. She definitely deserves a break when she gets back.

Ready to play even though he has just got back from the park.

Ready to play even though he has just got back from the park.

Indy is kind of getting used to being an only dog, he has days when he is very clingy with me, and others when he lays outside with his toys just longing for a canine buddy to play with but on the whole he is doing ok. When Julia gets back, we can start looking for a rescue Golden Retriever to adopt. 🙂

.

A Wiccaweys dog in need of a home is Rover.

Rover has come to us from our volunteers in Eire. Rover and his brother Jack were rescued urgently as they were due to be shot that very day by their farmer owner,because they didn’t work as expected and were surplus to requirements.

Rover is a lovely boy, shy but very friendly and very handsome. He is great with other dogs. He needs to gain quite a bit of weight at the moment, bless him.

If you can offer Rover or any other Wiccaweys dog a home visit their website for more details of how to adopt.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life on wheels.

  1. So glad you’re healing up, Mick and staying busy. I love homegrown fresh goodness of any kind! I keep saying that I am going to start a garden and then I …………..well I work……….usually it’s God’s work filming or editing in the studio for the Coffee & Christ show. I always buy and eat organic but it’s not as good as going into my own backyard and picking a sweet tomato off the vine. YUMMY!

Leave a Reply

