MS “flare up”

It would appear that the fatigue that I was suffering was just the start of a flare up? for the past week I have been a bit rough! Things have become so bad that Mr wheelchair has come out of storage for the first time in several years. I have fallen so many times and dropped so many dinners, cups of coffee and a large iron skillet (on my foot) the wheelchair has become the only safe way to get around the house. I think that all the stress that has been going on has caused this along with the lack of sleep and busy days? I will be glad when Julia comes home as we could both do with a bit of a rest, maybe we can muster some pennies and go to Andrew’s farm in Scotland for a few days? Flare ups are interesting as they are just the symptoms that I have all of the time but just worse; my legs get even heavier, my feet feel like big sponges so that I trip over the floor and my own feet, my eyes are blurrier and I am very clumsy instead of just clumsy! ๐Ÿ˜€ Not as bad as a relapse but definitely something I could do without.

Away from my self pity, Julia is struggling on in Indianapolis where she is looking after her dad. The legal process is slowly moving forward while she is having a hard time doing all the caring work by herself. It is hard work looking after someone 24 hours a day especially when their dementia makes them nasty toward you whenever you have to insist they do something they don’t want to do! I think that I have the easy part of the deal at the moment (Indy never moans or gets nasty).

Indy is enjoying the extra long walk and play sessions he can have thanks to me having to use by mobility scooter to take him out. ๐Ÿ™‚

little Indy

.

.

Wiccaweys dog needing a home is Misty who is 6 years old.

Misty has come to us from the Reading Dog Wardens Service after she was found tied up and abandoned, suffering from heat exposure and exhaustion. Despite being microchipped, the person on her chipped told the wardens she had rehomed Misty almost two years ago due to her herding and nipping the ankles of the small toddling children. Misty was refused rescue space with two large nationally known rescue organisations due to her age and the fact that she “had a history of aggression towards and had bitten children”. They suggested she be PTS.

SHE’S A COLLIE – THEY HERD!!!!
THAT ISN’T AGGRESSION!!!ย 

Misty is an amazing and wonderfully intelligent girl. She is very loving, very playful and great fun. She loves to play ball, is a great catcher of the ball, travels fantastically, walks well on lead and is just smashing!! She is good with most dogs, but can be a bossy collie girl keeping everyone in order, and she ignores cats. She would like an active adult home or one with with teenage children. No toddlers – they are too much like naughty sheep and need rounding up and keeping in one place!ย 

If you can offer Misty, or any other Wiccaweys dog a home visit their website here.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MS “flare up”

  1. I hope you start to feel better, Mick. I will pray for you, my friend.

  2. Dace says:

    do you have these often? would a few sleeps and rest do any good?

    • mickcgorman says:

      Hello, Dace.
      I often have a small flare up that might last a week or two but ones like I am having now are thankfully rare. No amount of sleep helps, I’m afraid I just have to ride it out until it passes. At least Julia isn’t here to suffer my grumpyness. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

