Who can you trust?

We used to think that we could trust my In law’s pastor, although I must confess that from the day I met him I have had my doubts.

My In laws met him 35 years ago when he took over at their church, he became a friend as well as their teacher and pastor. after a few years he suddenly left under a cloud which I now know was affairs with married church members! my In laws followed him to his next church where after a few years the same thing happened again! This time he took over a church out of town so he became just a friend although he did tell people that he was their adopted son?

We saw little of him during the time that we lived in Indianapolis, I suspect that this was because he couldn’t manipulate my In laws while we were around? I was always polite and respectful toward him but I still never trusted him.

My mother in law died in July and that is when the extent of this man’s crookedness became apparent; The first sign of what was to come was when he arrived at the house on the day of the funeral and took my In law’s car leaving Julia with no means of getting her dad to appointments or doing grocery shopping, she has had to borrow a car from a family member, he had actually changed the registration to his name 4 days earlier when the life support had been turned off! A check of bank statements has shown that he has taken tens of thousands of dollars in the last couple of years along with computers, tools, a safe, and all legal papers relating to my in laws and their property! As a means of defence for his actions he emailed Julia a copy of my Father in law’s will and a power of attorney document, both of which are not witnessed but stamped by a notary (a close friend of his who lives so far from Indy that there is no way my Father in law was present) Indiana state law requires 2 witnesses for a will to be valid, he also listed himself as a son of my Father in law which would also make it invalid.

The worst part of all of this crooked behaviour is that during the period of time that this crook has held a power of attorney my Father in law has wasted away, neglected and rarely getting fed or given drinks as it has been too much trouble to actually care for him, this has added to the dementia he has. Since Julia has been looking after him he has been fed properly and gets plenty to drink which has made him more alert, mobile and happy. The only time the crook has visited the house has been to take stuff, he will say a word or two to my Father in law which is normally something that upsets him and then he leaves.

The family attorney now has enough documents to put a stop to this vile individual which has started with a court appearance to give guardianship to my wife’s Aunt, once this is complete legal steps will be taken to ensure the return of all money and property to my Father in law. Papers have already been sent to him demanding he account for all money spent as required of a power of attorney by law. He wont be able to do this as a quick look at bank statements show that most of the money has been spent on him, phone bills, restaurant bills, mortgage payments for his house and much more!

A man of God? I THINK NOT!

Something that really upset me about this crook was when I was creating a file on him with internet research I came across his 3 Facebook pages so I looked at every entry on them, there was not one single mention of my In laws, no pictures, nothing! not even when my Mother in law died!! This from their “adopted son” SHAMEFUL

I have been somewhat circumspect in my post but once this is all resolved I will make public the full extent of this man’s conduct, and I will name him publicly. I also think it is my duty to warn all churches in central Indiana about this man as it is likely that he is doing the same thing to other vulnerable elderly people.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who can you trust?

  1. The worst part about this is that he is shameless. This happened when my father died and his sons found his body. They cleaned out the house while he lay deceased in his bed. I wouldn’t want to witness the wrath of God, at the gates of Heaven, given to those who have behaved this way in life.

    • mickcgorman says:

      Hi Kerri. It appears that death and money bring out the worst in people! He would have got away with it all if my mother in law had outlived my father in law as she has no close family so she willed it all to the crook!!
      The crook shook like a leaf in the wind when he thought I was going over so I hate to think how scared he will be if he makes it to the gates of Heaven?

Leave a Reply

