Life after Mack

It has been 10 days since Mack died, I still feel hollow, empty and sad! If I had not had other things to worry about I don’t think I would have survived.

When Luca died I had 10 months from his diagnosis to get used to the idea, I was extremely sad but I was prepared, Mack dying was such a surprise and a shock it has left me with a feeling of disbelief!

Here are some of my favourite pictures of Mack.

Sweet boy Mack Summer Mack (3)

Warkworth21

snow day Mack Shiney happy Macky nice

Edinshallbroch011

Mack nice bush pic Mack monday gdn 002 Mack monday 002

AboveGodscroft024

Mack May 17th 2011 019 (1) Mack May 17th 2011 019 Mack in august 11 022 Mack handsome nice pic Mack a doodle post bath 012 beautiful pic of  Mack Sweet boy Mack (2)

Moneynut039

Me and my pal

Me and my pal

Mack went from being scared of everything to being trusting, loving, playful, loyal and well behaved and all it took was time and love. Give a dog a chance, don’t buy a puppy, look at your local rescue and take the dog that needs you the most, you wont regret it.

I love and miss you, Mack.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Life after Mack

  1. I am very sorry for your lost.
    Our thoughts are with you.

  2. Mack was a beautiful dog, Mick. I pray for God to hold you close and heal your pain.

  3. So sorry for your loss – what a beautiful dog.

  4. ktredshoes says:

    It’s been two weeks since my dog Buster passed on. I know just how painful your loss is.

  5. Daydreamer says:

    So sorry for your loss, I have never lost a dog but cats who has been with me for many years. I am still sad about it but it gets better with time.

  6. Karen says:

    Mick, I am so sorry for your loss. I have been watching Mack’s adventures with your family since you first fostered him. We adopted a collie from Wiccaweys at about the same time. Thanks to both you and Julia for making Mack’s life so full and happy.

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank you, Karen. It was devastating for me but I imagine that it was worse for Julia as she is away and I had to tell her on the phone, at least I got to be with him at the end. 😦

  7. Dude.

    That is one awesome memorial to a great friend and a good dog.

    Thank you for sharing Mack with us

  8. ImaKatrina says:

    I’m so sorry to hear abt Mack. He was a gorgeous dog. Would you check out my blog? Imakatrina.wordpress.com

  9. Caroline says:

    So sorry for your loss Mick, Mack was soooo handsome, such a beautiful knowing face. Sleep tight lovely boy xx

  10. Julie & Ozzy says:

    So sorry to hear this sad news. Mack was the split double of our Wiccaweys boy Blake, also an Irish boy, who we lost in early 2010. We only had Blake for a year. I loved hearing how well mack was doing staying with you & Julia, all the fantastic hard work & time you were giving him, secretly keeping my fingers crossed that he wouldn’t be adopted, so he could stay with you. Like mack, Blake was afraid of everything, the outside, children and didn’t understand how to play. We taught him to play and he adored my youngest son from the moment they met, who was only 7 at the time. We didn’t have time to conquer his fear of the outside world.
    Like you said, mack trusted you, he loved you and you gave him a wonderful life after his shitty start. Why their lives were cut short I don’t know!! As for all the crap that Sarah & Paul are receiving at the moment, without them blake & mack wouldn’t have been given the chance of knowing love, and we wouldn’t have experienced the special, unconditional love of these two beautiful boys. I have my Ozzy now, who I love & adore and I know he loves us, but blakes love was different, he touched me like no other dog has before.
    My condolences also for the loss of your mother in law and the awful things that are happening with that. There are some real shites in this world. I have met Julia many times up at Wiccs whilst dog walking, a lovely lady with a heart of gold. I hope all is sorted soon and that so called man of god gets what is coming to him !!!

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank you for all of your comments, Julie.
      Mack was never going to be adopted as he always felt like my dog. There is another wiccs dog called Blake who also looks just like Mack, he is also Irish? It must be a common look there?
      Julia is indeed very special, how she hasn’t thumped preacher man already is beyond me, I would have been in jail long ago had I been there.
      I have just added a picture of Mack’s memorial plaque to his obituary posting, it was made by my brother who is a sign maker and it is in Mack’s favourite spot.

  11. Jay says:

    Dear Mick, I am so sorry to hear of your loss, both of Mack and your mother-in-law. I met you and Mack very briefly once at a Wiccs September fun day – I think it was the 2011 one and I recognised Mack from the Wiccaweys fosterer’s blog you wrote at the time. I adopted 2 dogs from Wiccaweys – in 2008 big Patch the Collie cross who was there for about 18months I think, and more recently (2010) Jessie who was fostered by Ian and Karen and was dog of the month for a lot of months. Jessie is with me still and only 9 but I only had Patch for 2 years before his old age caught up with us. I had another beloved collie rescue dog called Holly who broke my heart when she died extremely suddenly. I know only too well the pain you must be in right now and I hope time is helping to heal your loss. I think Mack was so lucky to have had you. He was a beautiful dog – your Indy is also gorgeous.

    I wish you and your family well, best wishes, Jay

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank you, Jay.
      I am hopeful that time will heal, it hasn’t yet but that could be because we have so much going on at the moment? Or it could just be because Mack was so special to me?

      • Jay says:

        I hope for you that time will heal, I can now think of Holly and Patch and how wonderful they were without the tears falling (well most of the time anyway!). Patch died in March 2010 and Holly October 2010. Holly was my first dog as an adult and I loved her so much that when she was dying I wanted to die too, but time has helped, as has having Jessie to pour all the love into. I keep photos of them everywhere and think of them daily and miss them but the raw agonising grief has passed, thankfully, although writing this has still put me in floods of tears, so I think the sadness never completely goes away. J.

      • mickcgorman says:

        When I think of Luca who was our first dog I mostly smile or laugh, he died 2 years ago. I know with time I will be the same with Mack. It is only because he went from being so bad to so good that his death seems so unfair. 😦

Leave a Reply

