Epilepsy and the future.

In a week I have an appointment with the disability employment advisor, I arranged this a while ago when my head was full of ideas but now I am not sure what direction I want to take? My brain keeps getting filled with all the things that I can’t do whereas a few weeks ago I could do anything. My main worry is that I still don’t feel safe going far without someone being with me, it is hardly appropriate to ask a new boss “can Mummy come with me”? 😀  My medication has settled down so I know my moods will be good again I am just not quite sure that the seizures are fully controlled yet?

I need a job that is varied so that I don’t sit all day as I will fall asleep due to medications also I can’t stand unaided so short periods of walking and standing are best. My brain mostly works and although I have never been a genius I can still figure stuff out and learn how to do loads of new things. My hands are a bit clumsy so I wont be returning to my old clinic, people would run a mile if they saw my shaking hands brandishing a needle toward them. 😀

What would make my hunt for employment much easier would be the return of my driving licence, I don’t know when that will be? I may just have to try for some kind of local training or education course to keep me sane until I can look further afield for work? My  brother suggested I need a hobby? (a bit patronising, I think?) The problem with that is the hobbies I have that don’t require fiddly hand work or great strength are a tiny bit risky for me now that I have Epilepsy, I wonder if anyone would like to teach me to fly a plane? 😀 😀

Julia is having to make a trip to America soon as her dad is unwell after a bad fall and is currently in a physical rehab unit to build his strength so that he can return home, she will need to help care for him for a while when he does. I am going to be a big brave boy and care for myself for a while, I always have before when she has been away, now is a tiny bit different. I wish I had friends around just to help me feel safe even though I wont need physical help, I do have 2 brothers who live nearby and I have Indy and Mack, so I should survive.

That’s enough whingywhineyness for now, I need to get jolly for our 31st anniversary on Wednesday. 🙂

.

.

.

Wiccaweys dog of the day today is Marge

Marge has come to us from Dogs In Distress in Eire. She was surrendered in to a pound together with her friend Homer and DID saved them.

Marge is gorgeous, a very sweet girl. Marge is very cheeky and friendly. She is great with other dogs and travels well. A really great family girl.

(Marge was almost adopted yesterday along with Homer but the lady broke down in tears as it was too soon after the loss of her dog) 😦

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Epilepsy and the future.

  1. My son also was constantly drowsy and tired from his medications. He is in high school, and spent a lot of time falling asleep after his morning pills were taken. This couldn’t work because he would be sleeping at school instead of being in class. I had to figure something out so that he could fully function.

    So, I’ve done a lot of reading on the various epilepsy websites around. One of the suggestions I got was to separate the doses into two doses. So I did this with the breakfast and supper doses because they were the ones affecting his very being
    For example:
    Before:
    8:30 AM : 600 mg Trileptal, 1000 mg Divalproex sodium (plus now the keppra)
    5:30 PM: 600 mg Trileptal, 1000 mg Divalproex sodium (plus now the keppra)

    It was too much all at once, and he was constantly sleeping, and could not function mentally or physically at all to do any schooling or evening homework.

    Now:
    8:30 AM: 300 mg Trileptal, 500 mg Divalproex, 500 mg keppra
    12:30 PM: 300 mg Trileptal, 500 mg Divalproex, 500 mg keppra (next week)
    4:30 PM: 300 mg Trileptal, 500 mg Divalproex, 500 mg keppra
    8:30 PM: 300 mg Trileptal, 500 mg Divalproex, 500 mg keppra (next week)

    Now James can fully function, is virtually seizure free, and best of all is not falling asleep at school.

    It is worth a shot, if you can do it. Our neurologist approved my changes saying that it was all cool as long as he gets all his meds within one day, and to do what we had to do to reduce the side effects.

Leave a Reply

