Keppra (levetiracetam) side effects and life.

What a horrible week that was! Nobody told me that the treatment would be worse than the condition, I had been plodding along nicely with the Epilepsy medications as prescribed when it came time to increase the keppra and then it all went wrong. I am normally mentally stable and balanced but for a week now I have had sudden bursts of rage which I have since learned are a common side effect? My wife contacted the neurologist and she has said to lower the dose a bit and see how I am in 2 weeks time, I hope I will return to “normal”?

I have a theory that tiredness may be contributing and that all this is part of the Epilepsy? The days when these events have happened have been days when I have either slept badly or got up early to go somewhere? I would be interested to hear if other people with Epilepsy find tiredness makes things worse.

Everybody has ups and downs and I am no different, yesterday had some good “ups” as I went on my last pike fishing trip of the season. Fish were caught and I relaxed and enjoyed just being there.

They may have only been tiddlers but I enjoyed catching them. ๐Ÿ™‚

12 pound Pike

tiddler pike march 2013

In other news; My son has finally moved in with his partner in readiness for the summer arrival of their baby. ๐Ÿ™‚ ย The only downside of this has been has been that for the past 2 months Julia has been ย getting his flat sorted. He lived in a multi level penthouse flat which was very large so all his stuff had to go up and down loads of stairs. She cleaned and painted, repaired plaster, sorted what he is keeping andย disposed of what he isn’t! she has been busy. In his defence, he couldn’t do much as he lives in a hotel in Swindon during the week and only returns to Wellingborough at weekends just in time for his special Friday dinner with us, but now that he has moved there will be no more Friday nights. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Onwards and upwards. ๐Ÿ™‚

.

.

.

Wiccaweys dog of the day is Dexter

Dexter has come to us from our friends at Hyndburn Dogs In Need. He was handed in when his dad’s circumstances changed. Dexter has been a much loved companion who was his dad’s constant companion, accompanying him in his lorry on long distance trips. When his dad was made redundant, life changed and a new job meant that Dexter had to stay at home alone. Dexter was distressed being left, so his dad made the very sad choice to give him up.

Dexter is a gorgeous boy. He is very friendly and happy. He is great with other dogs, very playful and obviously travels exceptionally well.

DEXTER WAS ADOPTED TODAY. (3/3/13) ย ๐Ÿ™‚

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Keppra (levetiracetam) side effects and life.

  1. Onwards and upwards as you say. Hope next week is better for you.

  2. c says:

    I never checked out your blog until now, and I’m glad I did!
    I’m on Keppra, as well as lamictol, and excegran. My neurologist introduced me to Keppra a little over a year ago, as excegran is going to be soon discontinued in Canada, so we had to find some other form of medication.
    I haven’t noticed any rage issues, however I do think that drowsiness (not like I didn’t have that bad enough from the other meds) has increased and some mild concentration issues. Do you mind me asking what type of epilepsy you have? Maybe it depends on the type..

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank’s for visiting, Catie.
      I have Temporal lobe Epilepsy but I think side effects depend on a multitude of things? it only took a small reduction in dose to make me feel much better. ๐Ÿ™‚ it is probably bad luck that my body doesn’t like Keppra? it puts up with loads of other stuff with no complaint.
      ๐Ÿ˜€

      • c says:

        Oh wow, I learned about that in one of my Neuroscience classes. It’s frequently associated with spiritual feelings, do you ever get those when experiencing a seizure? I’m sure that too. Actually I had my very first convulsion while being on Keppra and I’ve lived with Epilepsy for the last 13 years or so..I’d like to think it was just a coincidence but maybe not.

      • c says:

        And on a side note, your dogs are adorable!

  3. mickcgorman says:

    The dogs thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚
    No, I don’t get spiritual during a seizure, most of the time I have no idea what happens? I am looking forward to the day when I don’t need medication for Epilepsy but as I am new to Epilepsy it could be some way off yet?

    • c says:

      Haha I hear that! Maybe, I’m not too sure. I had a friend who experienced grand mal seizures several times a day from infancy until she was about 10 and then it just went away. She’s driving now, and doesn’t even have to take medication anymore, her EEGs are even deemed “normal”. I on the other hand have been having absence seizures since I was 11 and my neurologist said I’ll have to take medication for the rest of my life and will most likely never be seizure free, which sucks because I’ve always wanted to drive ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but I’m really hoping you’ll come out of it completely fine! Sometimes it’s such a bummer to have all the restrictions, but hopefully everything will turn around for you and you can get off those meds asap! *crossing my fingers for you* ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Keppra never made me experience outbursts of rage. For me, it was sadness that would randomly and abundantly hit. I hope everything levels out for you soon. The side-effects of various medications can be almost as bad as seizures to some people.

    Yes, sleep patterns used to make a drastic impact on my rate of seizures. It is amazing and concerning how seizure patterns vary from person to person. Document when the seizures hits and the amount of sleep you receive the night before. Maybe that will help demonstrate the effect of your sleeping pattern has on your health.

    Wonderful picture of Dexter!

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank you for your input, the idea of noting seizure activity and sleep patterns is a good one, I shall be doing that.
      So far I have been feeling much better side effect wise since reducing the Keppra.
      It is still early days in the relationship between me and Epilepsy so I am sure that we will get used to each other. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

