Epilepsy setback.

I have been trying to be optimistic, taking my medication and looking forward but it is amazing how quickly it all comes tumbling down! I started the week feeling a little “odd” I didn’t think it was anything in particular so I ignored it. On Wednesday I decided to go fishing, I got up early packed my stuff on the buggy and went, I had only been fishing for a couple of hours and then I had a seizure!! All my confidence vanished, I became despondent about my job searching, getting my driving licence back and just being normal again. I am still not right but I will try to start next week afresh and rebuild what I had, it is probably not worth mentioning the “episode” to the neurologist as she will mess with my medication and my 12 month wait to drive will start again, I have never driven when unwell and wouldn’t start to do so now. I will definitely get a life jacket for fishing but I was OK this time as I was sitting on my buggy with the seatbelt on and well back from the edge of the river. I’m guessing that as these things happen I will will start to recognise the signs and the things that contribute to them occurring then I can avoid future problems?

Sorry for the miserable post but it helps me when I get stuff said because I don’t tell my family about every little thing, they all have their own things to deal with.

Here is a nice picture of Indy so I can end the posting on a cheerful note. 🙂

Indy frosty garden 004

.

.

.

The Wiccaweys dog needing a home today is Piper

Piper returned to us from her home after quite a period of time as their circumstances changed.

Piper is hilarious. We adore her. She is a feisty, bossy collie girl who knows her own mind and likes her routine. If you love strong willed bossy girls you will adore her, if you don’t then you won’t cope with her as she is an adorable old battleaxe of the first order! HUGE character! She loves her bed and dinners!  She isn’t a brilliant traveller as she tries to herd cars if loose in a vehicle. If crated, she is OK. She would like a home with limited travelling. She is good with cats and dogs she knows.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Epilepsy setback.

  1. Echo says:

    That’s a bugger, Mick, I’m sorry. I can only imagine how much that throws you. x

  2. mickcgorman says:

    Sue, you are too good with words, i am jealous! 😀

  3. Nachthawk says:

    Following your site every now and again… and that is a bummer… however it can only get better… and you still have good support I guess… so chin up… is what you say I think…

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank you. It is easy to feel sorry for ourselves sometimes, isn’t it? It is only because I am new to Epilepsy, when I have an MS relapse I just use it as an excuse to rest for a week or two so this shouldn’t be any different. 😀

      • Nachthawk says:

        Shame on you to admit that so openly… 🙂 can’t really say that I know what you mean… I think it is great that you write about in the frist instance, as long as you don’t indulge in it… laughing… have a great weekend and keep posting…

  4. Carol says:

    Sorry you’ve been having a bad time, It does help to write things though, sort of cathartic. Onwards and upwards!

  5. Carol says:

    And never apologise for a post……!

  6. mickcgorman says:

    Thank you, Carol. It has helped to write things down, I wish I had known about writing years ago.
    🙂

  7. Hey, its always nice to share! Dealing with epilepsy isn’t easy but time and patience help…it certainly helped me 🙂

  8. Christina says:

    Mick, thanks for stopping by my blog! Never apologize for your post. I’m glad you are able to get your troubles off your chest here. It is helpful to others who live with Epilepsy to read posts like yours just to reaffirm that they are not alone. Even though I deal with Epilepsy as an observer to my husband, I watch his struggles and it tears me up. Patience (with many doctors, ignorant people and the illness) and taking one day at a time has greatly helped us. Good Luck to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

