I usually keep my politics to myself , but…..

It was encouraging that tonight the  UK parliament voted to introduce same sex marriage, I just find it hard to believe that there are 175 elected politicians that live in the 19th century and voted against it!! One thing bothers me about the bill though, no churches will be required to conduct same sex ceremonies? When ethnic minorities became protected by law, there were no exclusions, when women were given the vote it wasn’t for only some elections so why this caveat? Are we telling gay people that they can be a little bit equal but not as equal as the rest of us? It’s time our “leaders” reflected the people they represent and the times we live in and not try to make us fit their old fashioned almost Dickensian morals. Did I mention that a government minister just plead guilty to perverting the course of justice and faces prison? 😀

.

.

The Wiccaweys dog today is Gabbie who is 6 to 8 years old.

Gabbie has come to Wiccaweys from our Eire volunteers. She was handed into an Irish rescue with her friend. He found a new home, but Gabbie didn’t.

Gabbie came into rescue from desperate circumstances where she never had any creature comforts.  She is very fit and active, loves her runs and playtime.  Gabbie is a bit of a flirt and loves the boy dogs, but can be a bit of a bossy madam with other girlies. Gabbie would love a home to herself so she can be spoilt rotten – she deserves it now.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I usually keep my politics to myself , but…..

  1. Dace says:

    my friend, there are churches that will step forward and offer their services. I do not mind if people can keep their religious beliefs. One step at a time. One day even religious institutions will look back and feel ashamed of their narrow-mindedness. It is more important to give the right to marry and adopt to same-sex couples then to make the church to open its doors to everybody.

  2. mickcgorman says:

    Fair point, Dace. My main concern is that the bill as presented allows churches to opt out of offering same sex marriage but makes it illegal for The church of England (Anglican) to conduct same sex marriage?? The majority of Christians here are C of E so some same sex couples can never be married in the church of their choosing? Hopefully a more forward thinking government will re-visit these concessions soon. I think a lot of “horse trading” has gone on to get some kind of bill passed? I guess that’s how politics works.

Leave a Reply

