Epilepsy and Multiple Sclerosis follow up

I hate going to the doctor, I usually just go once a year for my prescription review, so I have been dreading my neurologist appointment for the past 2 months. I go through all sorts of things in my mind, I even think they will say that they made a mistake and I don’t have Epilepsy. I got up early this morning because the roads in my neighbourhood are still very slippery with ice, so I wanted to leave early, The taxi was late! another side effect of Epilepsy is I am not allowed to drive. Usually when I go places I am always early, I hate not being in control of my own mobility.

When I got to the hospital the nurse said that the doctor wasn’t there yet so I hadn’t needed to  stress. 🙂  The appointment was a real anti climax! There was no “sorry we got it wrong” just checking how I have been and a lot of talk about Epilepsy as though I have had it all my life, talk of fits, auras and medications? I still can’t be as matter of fact about it as the doctors are, I am sure with time it will seem normal? The doctor asked again if I was working at present and when I said no she said “we don’t have to worry about that yet then”? I didn’t ask her what she meant by that, I am a rubbish patient! I always end up wanting to kick myself after the appointment because of all the things I should have said. Still, my medication has been adjusted slightly to help with my poor balance which should make me feel safer when I sneak off for a fishing trip. 😀 (probably on Friday)

I have been in touch with the disability employment advisor at the job centre so I can start trying to be normal and productive again soon. In the past I have had trouble with potential employers not wanting to hire me because of my Multiple Sclerosis so I don’t know what it will be like now with Epilepsy as well? I could fail to mention it but I am sure that would be a bad idea because of workplace safety and the like, apart from that I prefer to be honest.

I have read a lot about the public perception of Epilepsy and it is worrying, it is like a medieval view of witches!! I must confess that I gave little thought to Epilepsy before I got it but I never treated anyone as a freak or outcast because they had it. It will be interesting to see how I get on? I did think of joining one of the Epilepsy societies to meet with others with the condition but the nearest meetings are 12 miles away and I am not allowed to drive! Julia only drives automatic and our motorhome (only vehicle) is manual! I would go on my mobility scooter but Julia would have a hissy fit because the road to Northampton is very busy and only has paths in some sections. I should be like my brother and live on a narrow boat then I could go places and be at home at the same time. 😀   The only problem with that would be that I am near open water which is prohibited! Has anyone got some bubble wrap that I can wrap myself in? 😀

You’ve got to laugh, don’t ya?

.

.

The Wiccaweys dog today is Jess

Jess has come to us via K9 Search UK.
She was originally re-homed by another rescue in Feb to her previous home. Unfortunately that home didn’t work out and the previous rescue refused to take her back. K9 Search UK stepped in to help Jess’ elderly and disabled owners find a rescue space for her, and she has come to us.

Jess is a very affectionate girl, who likes to look after her people. She was not good with cats when she arrived, but now just ignores the Wiccaweys cats. She can be a cantankerous old baggage with some other dogs if they annoy her. She just wants a quiet life and her own folks to herself. She travels well and is good in the house. Jess has an undershot jaw which gives her a very cute little sharky face and makes her look very puppyish.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Epilepsy and Multiple Sclerosis follow up

  1. Sorry they didn’t say they’d made a mistake. Glad you are managing to find a bit of humour in all of this – I take my hat off to you. Bubble wrap, now, let me see…. if I hadn’t already popped it all, I’m sure I’d have been able to help. I’m afraid I’m a bubble popper addict though 🙂

  2. mickcgorman says:

    You can’t beat a bit of bubble bursting can you? 😀
    It’s all good. Real life is easier to cope with than worrying about what might be, and humour definitely helps. 🙂

  3. you do, you have to laugh…last year the 1st time i went to the neurologist in maryland,i scheduled a ride and you have to tell them 3 hours earlier,because they never find where you live or other things. when i got there i saw my mailman….the dr. was like 300 feet from where i lived… and the 4 mri’s were 50 feet away from my bedroom.

Leave a Reply

