Multiple Sclerosis V Epilepsy

Luca the snow king

Luca’s last winter (he loved snow)


In physical terms one can’t really compare the two conditions even though they are both neurological conditions. They can only be compared by the effect they have on your life, being new to Epilepsy I have a lot to learn.

I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis in 1994 while living in America, it was an expensive process but quick and simple. The reaction I got from people was in the main positive with a little sympathy thrown in for good measure. My employer was prepared to modify my work day to accommodate any limitations and it was only insurance problems that eventually convinced me to return to England ( the company was sold and the new insurers wouldn’t cover the MS for 2 years).  Things worked out as they should because as soon as we got home my Mother in law was diagnosed with terminal cancer so Julia was here to look after her. With hindsight I now think I would probably have stayed in The USA  because in England, potential employers and people in general have written me off because of the MS! I know that many people are very accepting of disability I have just been unlucky enough to meet the others! Care from the NHS has been good but not proactive, I have to coax treatment from my GP which can be frustrating at times. The greatest blessing has been having my family here because at times I wouldn’t have survived without them.

Climber Indy

Indy is an athlete

I first reported the symptoms of Epilepsy to my GP about 3 years ago ( It would now appear that some of the “auras” have been present since I was a teenager?)  each time I mentioned it, tests were done and then it was forgotten for another year!  Autumn 2012 a  colleague of my GP was concerned enough to refer me to a neurologist because he was sure it was Epilepsy, the referral and subsequent tests (EEG and MRI) were all done quickly. So far so good. The problem seems to be people? Some are great and treat me just fine, some pity, some pretend it doesn’t exist and some pretend that I don’t exist!! I must confess I wouldn’t have known how to behave had I been in their position so I bear no grudges.  I am still nervous of the Epilepsy and have severely limited what I do because I have no idea how it will develop but I am sure that once I grow accustomed to the medication it will be the same as the MS and it will go to the back of my mind while life goes on. I still have my family so I know that I will be ok.

I suppose the issue with me is that MS is all physical, I fall over, I have pain, I drop things but I see, feel and know all of these things are happening. With Epilepsy things happen, I lose periods of time after which I am confused and emotional and I don’t know what went on! It’s that old primal thing, isn’t it? Fear of the unknown.

Business man Mack

Mack’s serious look.

It is hard to say which is worse? The MS has been fairly stable for a few years, The Epilepsy can be limited by medication, if I can convince people to just treat me as the grumpy old git that I have always been, things will be fine. 😀

Anyway for the past week the ARTHRITIS in my knees and ankles is kicking my butt so who cares about the other stuff? 😀

.

.

Not a featured rescue but a website that brings together rescue dogs from all over the UK, Dogs blog dogs can be browsed by breed, sex or age

Bertie is a Golden Retriever who was found as a stray and not claimed. Bertie is a happy fellow but as we have no history on him we would prefer not to rehome with young children. His nickname is Baby as he behaves like a youngster all the time.

Bertie has been neutered, vaccinated, micro chipped and has his own passport. Please phone Mary of Enfield Dog Rescue on 0208 482 9372 or 07956468706. Note that we like to rehome in the local area if possible. www.enfielddogrescue.co.uk

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

