A Luca memory.

3 Years ago we spent 2 months in Somerset searching for 2 lost Border Collies. We spent the time staying in our old motorhome, it was the coldest winter I can remember in England! We never caught the 2 Collies although we did track them a few times. We had a trap sent from Wellingborough which we set in various places where we had seen the dogs, it had to be tested and there was only one man for the job. 🙂

Trap test dummy 1.

Trap test dummy.

It took very little food to get Luca to go in the trap, I have heard that Golden Retrievers like food? 😀

Luca and Indy worked really hard during our two month search, we would walk the whole time that it was light sometimes through deep snow!

The boys are searching

searching the snowy lane

I was a little more mobile in those days and could get around OK with a stick, it was tough going. We would slide under fences and through hedgerows, the whole time frozen to the core!

Mick searching

Every day ended the same, we were all pooped and me and my boy (Luca) would snuggle up in the van for a snooze. 🙂

Mick and Luca pooped

It is experiences like those that form the bond between a man and his dog. Julia and Indy were pretty tight too, even now he will respond to the slightest sound or movement from her. 🙂

We had to come home without the lost Collies, we had heavy hearts but it was starting to depress our dogs and they come first. I would try my best to help anyone with a lost pet but trips like that are long in my past along with my baby, Luca. 😦

My hero dog.

About Mick C Gorman

Slightly damaged old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 35 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thing beats the lot! I love lots of things but in the past have never really stuck with them long enough to be good at them, I am trying harder to be better at a few things rather than okay at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

