One dogs story.

At the weekend I was again reading Wiccaweys uncovered on Facebook, although the whole site depicts the shocking conditions at Wiccaweys it is the individual stories that make my eyes leak the most. I spent some time thinking about all of the beautiful dogs that have been through Wiccaweys since I started to volunteer there. All of this thinking brought to mind one special dog… Jonty.

Jonty R I P (1)

 

Jonty arrived from Ireland several year years ago and from day one I knew that he was special, I thought he would soon be gone as he was the most sorted dog I had seen at Wiccaweys since I started there. Jonty was a beautiful fluffy tri colour Collie who loved people, walked nicely, didn’t trouble any dogs or the other animals at Wiccaweys in fact he was an “instant pet”. The only thing that troubled me about Jonty was he hated to be in his crate! I couldn’t blame him because it wasn’t one of the “palatial” crates featured on Wiccaweys uncovered but a travel crate only suited for a short car journey! Whenever I arrived on walking days I wanted to be first to the barn so that I could walk Jonty, as soon as the barn opened and the light fell on his crate his tail would slowly start to wag but the closer I got to his crate the faster it would wag until as I opened the crate his whole body was wagging. After Jonty had been there a few weeks Julia and I stopped by for a Wednesday walk and found that Jonty was ill, he was wheezing, panting, lethargic and had a horrible green goop in his eyes! I told Sarah who said “he was fine last night, I will take him to the vet later” so we left it there. on Saturday when I arrived I went to the barn and his crate was empty, as Sarah was there getting dogs out for the other walkers I asked her if Jonty had been adopted? she didn’t answer, because she was busy I got another dog and started walking. Half way through the morning I was walking up the drive when Sarah pulled up in her car she wound down the window and said “Jonty died in the night, heart failure” and then she drove away! As I now know because of Mack dying last year dogs do die of heart failure out of the blue but I have always suspected that the condition he was suffering during the week may have contributed? I have never forgotten that beautiful Irish boy and often look at the pictures that I have of him on my laptop, I always question whether I should have offered to foster him (we had a foster dog at the time but could have squeezed him in) Would it have made a difference? I will never know. :-(

I am a fervent believer in dog rescues large and small but now I will be bolder when visiting a rescue and not just accept the “if you don’t like it you can leave” response to my questions. I think we owe it to rescue animals to report poorly run rescues and if the RSPCA don’t respond well, as in the Wiccaweys case, we should persevere and use every channel there is until things are put right.

Do it for Jonty

 

Jonty deserved better.

Jonty deserved better.

.

I am not going to feature a single rescue dog in this posting but will instead share this link to dogs blog

Here you will find hundreds of dogs from dozens of rescues all over the UK. There will be a breed, size, age and colour of dog to suit every home.

About mickcgorman

Slightly worn out old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 32 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thingy beats the lot! I love loads of things but never really stick with them long enough to be good at them, I will try harder to be better at a few things rather than rubbish at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One dogs story.

  1. Heartwarming image of Jonty…and yes he deserved better…very well written…I feel his happy wagging tail…My work in rescue is dedicated to dogs like Jonty…
    Inder

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank you, Inder.
      All dogs are special but Jonty was just an extra special one. We carry on doing what we do for abused and neglected dogs because they all deserve better.

  2. suchled says:

    Thanks for dropping onto my blog. I think anyone who has anything to do with Border Collies gets to love ‘em.
    Great blop.

  3. suchled says:

    I didn’t mean blop. I just had a visit to the dentist and I’m a bit woosey. I meant ‘blog’

  4. suchled says:

    Mick, OK So you have epilepsy and diabetes and border collies. So, on account of you have border collies what’s your problem? I have a wife who thinks I’m a total sh.t but ‘cos I love dogs I’m happy. You got a great blog. Look at youtube for Australian border collies winning sheep dog trials.
    Go man, you are a decent bloke. PS. you have my permission to check out my blog any time you wish.

  5. mickcgorman says:

    Thanks for the comment.
    Dogs help cope with most things, they always lift my spirits. :-)

Leave a Reply

