MS fatigue, reading and fishing.

MS fatigue can be a real drag, eating into my days and stopping me doing the things that I want to do! Lately I have been having 3 or 4 naps per day on top of sleeping 8 or 9 hours during the night! The trouble is that some of my Epilepsy medication contributes to the tiredness. That’s the moaning out of the way so now the positive stuff. Being too exhausted to walk has meant that I have filled my days with reading, I have re-read 2 more books by Anna Nicholas, “Goats from a small island” and “Donkeys on my doorstep” which has helped pass my awake time nicely. I also read an inspiring book by Rosie Swale Pope, called “Just a small run around the world” which as the title suggests is about an epic run around the world. Rosie took 5 years to complete a solo unsupported 20,000 mile run in honour of her late husband and to raise awareness about cancer. The only downside to Rosie’s book is it made me realise how lazy I am and just how often I feel sorry for myself! :-D

I managed a morning of fishing last week, it was a beautiful sunny day which always make fishing a pleasure. I was quite successful catching 9 bream and 2 tench as well as masses of tiddlers. all were returned safely to the lake so that I can catch them again another day. :-)

Tench of about 2 pounds

Tench of about 2 pounds

 

I like to catch Tench as they put up a good fight for their size, unlike Bream who get dragged in like a soggy rag. :-D

Bream or possibly hybrid of about 3 pounds.

Bream or possibly hybrid of about 3 pounds.

A Bream of 4ish pounds.

A Bream of 4ish pounds.

In other good news, My driving licence finally arrived 19 months after I surrendered it. Despite being told by the DVLA several months ago that I could resume driving I found I couldn’t get insurance until I had actually received my licence? My friend is sorting the car out this week and taking it for the MOT and then I am “normal” again.

.

.

Oscar needs a home.

Oscar is 5 or 6 years old and has been rescued by Irish Retriever Rescue.

About mickcgorman

Slightly worn out old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 32 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thingy beats the lot! I love loads of things but never really stick with them long enough to be good at them, I will try harder to be better at a few things rather than rubbish at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MS fatigue, reading and fishing.

  1. annelritchie says:

    Mick, acceptance is the first step of any road taken. Working within your limitations and yet still having the pleasure of a good wrangle with a fish is a good sign. Hang in there.

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank’s for the comment. :-)
      I’m good with the MS most of the time, I just get that urge to make a mark on the world sometimes, this usually coincides with feeling rough! :-D

  2. Its great news about the license!

  3. mickcgorman says:

    It sure made me smile. :-)
    I feel part of the human race again. :-D

Leave a Reply

