Does nature have a soul?

For years we had a large bush under our kitchen window which we called the fish bush because of the smell of the blossom, it is actually a Pyracantha.  When Mack arrived we renamed it the Mack bush as he spent every spare minute laying under it, rain or shine.

 Mack a doodle in his bush

 Snoozer doodle

Mack loved his bush so much he would dig out little hollows to lay in so that he was comfortable, because of this I removed the grass and replaced it with gravel so he could be nice and comfy. As I have posted before, Mack died on the 25th of July last year. Since Mack died I started to notice a change in his bush, the leaves lost their gloss and this winter the berries started to shrivel before the blackbirds could eat them? when spring arrived and the bush was devoid of blossom I knew the bush had died. I am sure it was caused by a disease or a parasite but the timing makes me think that perhaps Mother nature took the bush for Mack. Yesterday I dug out the stump and planted a new bush, it wont be a “Mack bush” as it is a different variety but it will bring back some colour, give the birds somewhere to hide and you never know in time it may become the “Hamish bush”?

.

.

Today I am featuring Ruby who is in the care of Irish retriever rescue.

Age: 3 years old

Sex: female, not yet spayed

History
Ruby is a golden retriever/collie crossbreed and was rescued by IRR from a pound. 

Personality
This lady is quite nervous and she does exhibit some collie personality traits

Ruby’s dream home
ideally Ruby needs to be rehomed as an only dog with someone who has 
experience with collies, who will be patient and consistent with her continued 
training and energy requirements. She’s not recommended for young children.

Behaviour with other animals – not good with cats or rabbits, ok with other dogs. 

Fostered in – Northampton.

About mickcgorman

Slightly worn out old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 32 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thingy beats the lot! I love loads of things but never really stick with them long enough to be good at them, I will try harder to be better at a few things rather than rubbish at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Does nature have a soul?

  1. codemanbc says:

    Wow….for some reason that photo of Mack sleeping under “mack bush” really hit me hard. The Codeman is 12 and a 1/2 and I am watching the slow decline in abilities and skills…that is, until we go bye-bye in the car. Go figure. -Cody’s Dad

    • mickcgorman says:

      I think as they get older collies save their energy for the important things like playing and car rides. :-)
      I still get a tear in my eye when I look at pictures of Mack, I wasn’t ready for him to go. :-(

  2. How sad…he looked so peaceful under that bush

  3. mickcgorman says:

    He absolutely loved being there.
    I still miss him. :-(

  4. Lesley says:

    I loved your photos of Mack. I’m so sorry for your loss. In time, when it down’t hurt quite so much you’ll have your lovely memories of him to make you smile.

    Ruby looks lovely, I so wish I could give her a home, she’d love it here on the farm, unfortunately, two geriatric cats, Douggie the doggie and a hyperactive grandchild would make it all more of a trial than a nice home for her. I hope you manage to find her a loving home very soon.

  5. mickcgorman says:

    Thank you, Lesley. I do manage a chuckle sometimes when I recall some of the things Mack got up to. :-)

Leave a Reply

