Indy has had surgery.

Indy has had a lump under his arm for a few months, the vet said it was fat and as long as it didn’t bother him we could leave it. In the past couple of weeks it has grown a little and was making him uncomfortable so today he had it removed. I hate having things done to my boys, I am a nervous wreck all day and then I feel guilty when they arrive home all sore and confused. :-(

Indy’s wound (not too gory)

Indy wound

The dreaded “lampshade” they sent him home in.

Indy in a lampshade

A better solution is a shirt, Indy never messed with his wound when he had the “snip” so he should be OK.

Indy tshirt

The worst part for Indy will be that he can’t go out for walks for a few days and running and jumping could be several weeks! Poor baby. :-(

Thank you to the many hundreds of people who have viewed the blog since Saturday. it will be strange to return to my usual 30 or so views per day, I will miss y’all. The serious point is that perhaps we shouldn’t assume that all rescues are looking after the animals in an ideal way, if they appear not to be open to closer scrutiny we should ask why? also, the owners of animal sanctuaries shouldn’t be afraid to ask for help, in these tough times when money is in short supply people are usually willing to give time instead of money.┬áIt is now obvious to me that a lot of people really care about the welfare of dogs and are prepared to do what it takes to help them.

About mickcgorman

Slightly worn out old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 32 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thingy beats the lot! I love loads of things but never really stick with them long enough to be good at them, I will try harder to be better at a few things rather than rubbish at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Indy has had surgery.

  1. codemanbc says:

    I had one taken off my neck, several years back. I know my Dad was worried. Tell Indy I got a haircut a couple of days ago…and I wish him a swift recovery. -Cody

  2. Jann Grant says:

    Aaaww poor Indy :-( hope he feels better soon xxx

  3. scarlybobs says:

    Poor Indy, I hope he feels better very soon and has an easy recovery :)

    I hate leaving them at the vets and worry all day too! We had our Staffy pup Zoey spayed, which was horrible as she was very groggy and sick afterwards. And Kasper, our rescue Springer x Collie, managed to cut an artery once and had to have an op for stitches. He is fearful at the best of times and wasn’t himself afterwards.

    Not nice, but sometimes ops are the best thing for the pup :)

    • mickcgorman says:

      Thank you. :-)
      He is starting to act a little more normally now, i even got a tail wag from him.
      The worst part of having dogs is handing them over to a vet for the day, I know they look after them but they don’t love them like I do. :-)

  4. Sending good healing thought to Indy. He looks so cute in that t-shirt. It’s a great color for his royal cuteness. <3

Leave a Reply

