Do employers dislike disabled people?

Getting ready for another trip to the disability employment adviser set me thinking. The prospect of getting a job and joining in with the rest of society excites me and worries me at the same time, the bit that worries me is the rejection that is obviously discrimination! 2 examples of this came a couple of years ago. I applied to Northamptonshire constabulary for a clerical job in the custody suite, I was well qualified having just spent 5 years with the probation service working with some quite dangerous offenders so I had no doubts that I could work with those kind of people. A couple of weeks after I applied I got a phone call from a woman in the human resources department (obviously didn’t want to put it in writing) who suggested I withdraw my application as she didn’t think I could complete the mandatory self defence course? My first thought was why would I need self defence to sit behind a desk filling in forms? the second and most worrying was that I hadn’t told her the extent of my MS, I just put that I have it, she made a lot of assumptions after reading the words Multiple Sclerosis!

The second example was when I applied to a product testing facility for a laboratory technicians job. Again I was qualified, again I told them of my MS but gave no details and again I got a call this time telling me that not all of the facility was accessible! Why did they assume that I need an accessible building? I was able to get around reasonably well at that time so a normal building would have been fine.

I reported both of these experiences to the disability employment adviser but was shocked by her reply, she told me the police are exempt from the disability discrimination act in regards to recruitment? when I said that I could understand that when it comes to front line staff but why should it be so with office staff? she just said “that’s the way it is”. Her reply to my experience with the other job was worse, she said “oh them, they never hire disabled people, we keep sending them and they keep rejecting them”

I am sure the disability employment advisers are better now but are the employers? now I have the added extra of Epilepsy to tell them about are they even going to bother replying to my application?

If I had some kind of business idea or unique skill I would start my own business but I am just a run of the mill employee type of person. Wherever I have worked I have always given 100% and often taken on extra duties in order to help the team, rather than just worry about getting my work done. These employers don’t know what they are missing. :-)

.

While having a nap on the sofa a few days ago, I was woken by a big lump landing on me! I had to do ten minutes of high fives before he would lay down and let me sleep again. :-)

Dogs! You gotta love 'em, don't ya?

Dogs! You gotta love ‘em, don’t ya?

Sophie is a 3 year old Golden Retriever and needs a home.

I am only listing this dog needing a home because the rescue state she must be an only dog? otherwise I would be getting her myself. I do take issue with rescues that say such things as very few dogs are happier as only dogs, they are after all pack animals it’s just they may need a little effort to integrate them with the other dogs in the home.

About mickcgorman

Slightly worn out old bloke who is plodding on with more than a little help from a great wife. I have been married for 32 years and have 2 grown up children. I did the usual thing and replaced children with dogs when the nest became empty, best thing I ever did (apart from getting married of course). Life has taken a few interesting turns so far but this Epilepsy thingy beats the lot! I love loads of things but never really stick with them long enough to be good at them, I will try harder to be better at a few things rather than rubbish at loads of things. There is still plenty of time. :-D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do employers dislike disabled people?

  1. It’s hard to get a job with a college degree but at the same time a person doesn’t learn in college what a person learns working in the real world. Those that work the hardest, trouble shoot the smartest and communicate most efficiently are most times those that don’t have a college degree.

    • mickcgorman says:

      Nice to hear from you, Kerri.
      I went to college and I am a hard worker and I still can’t get a job. I must say that some of the things I have learned in the real world concern me, like how a reasonable person can disregard a persons education, experience and skills just because they have a disability! I would no more do that than disregard because of colour or gender. I guess employers can be overly selective because of the current economic climate, it is safer to employ a fit person because they may take less sick time?
      They wont beat me, I will keep trying. :-)

Leave a Reply

